Pimp Your Druid: Soloing Anzu

This will be the first installment of my Pimp Your Druid series of posts on how to obtain a Reins of the Raven Lord from Anzu from Setthek Halls. Being as we are all druids, I figured this would be the best one to start off with and as it is one of the easier ones. While this is something that has become easily doable in WOTLK, it was something that was possible since lv 70. My luck has been pretty poor when it comes to Anzu, since the introduction of achievements, I’ve done this close to 100 times (50 on the statistics tracker, explained below). Hopefully you will have better luck than me.

Prerequisite

  • First and foremost, you need to have finished the Druid epic flight form quest and as a result have an Essence-Infused Moonstone which allows you to summon Anzu. If you haven’t done the epic flight form questline, you can start here Morthis Whisperwing
  • Anzu can only be summoned in heroic mode only
  • While you don’t have to be level 80, it definitely helps to make things easier and faster

What gear do I need?

  • As this is soloable at lv 70 in T6, any gear post TBC should allow you to solo this
  • If you’re not wearing T7 or above, you should probably be in a bear type spec
  • Personally, I wear my full T8.5 cat set (gear I usually have on) to solo Anzu, with no buffs aside from Mark of the Wild and Thorns
  • If you are worried about your gear, try entering battlegrounds to get some buffs/food first, before starting your run

Getting to Anzu

  • You can stealth through all the trash until you arrive in his room
  • Make sure to hug the right when passing the first boss Darkweaver Syth, he has stealth detection
  • If you pull any packs by accident, Shadowmeld is your friend

Clearing Trash

  • There are 5 trash packs in his room, you do not have to clear the pack in the back left.
  • Personally, I like to speed things up, I open with a Pounce, Barksin and Cat Swipe 3-4 times (dependening if I get a Clearcast) before shifting into bear.
  • Kill Sethekk Prophet first always, they fear which could cause you to aggro multiple packs
  • If a Prophet is going to cast fear, Bash to interrupt or Berserk if the fear gets off
  • When Prophets die, they spawn a Sethekk Spirit, kite away from these as they do damage

Anzu Fight Mechanics

Anzu has the following abilities:

  • Spell Bomb: 8 second curse, burning 2000 mana and deals 1000 damage if a player affected by it casts a spell; Anzu whispers the player affected by the debuff, effectively warning of the effect. It is very important that casters take note of when they have this debuff on them. (This can be avoided, explained below)
  • Cyclone of Feathers: Targets a random party member (minus tank) and puts them in a cyclone for 6 seconds. Considered a magic effect, but the debuff also makes you immune for normal dispels. Can be dispelled with Mass Dispel. This ability has a cast bar and can (and should) be interrupted. (This is not used when soloing)
  • Paralyzing Screech: A 6 second AoE stun on the entire group. Has a 5 second cast time but is not interruptible in any way. It is recommended to place heal over time spells and shields on the tank when you see the cast. Cannot be outranged.

In addition, there are 3 statues to help assist you during the fight:

The fight will unfold in the following manner:

  • Anzu will engaged by himself until the 66% and 33% marks
  • At 66% and 33%, he will banish himself and spawn a pack of birds that need to be killed
  • If the birds are killed before 1 minute, Anzu will unbanish himself, if the birds are not dead after 1 minute, Anzu will unbanish regardless

How to Solo Anzu

I pull Anzu by the following way:

  • Regrowth the Hawk Spirit so that damage is reduced, this is only done on the pull, I don’t bother reactivating the spirit again
  • Moonfire Anzu from behind the front left grave and pull back behind the grave
  • Rejuv and Lifebloom on the way backwards and shift to bear.

Once Anzu banishes himself I do the following:

  • Move from behind the grave to the other side to LOS Anzu, this ensures that I won’t get cursed (Cyclone of Feathers)
  • When I am free of being cursed, I’ll heal myself back to full, make sure you don’t get Paralyzing Screech in caster form
  • Easiest way to avoid getting Paralyzing Screech in caster form is to wait until he uses the ability (while you’re in bear form) before you force him into a banish

When dealing with the bird adds:

  • Bear form and swipe them all down
  • If you were not able to heal yourself up and you are low, you can kite the birds to the back right grave and force Anzu to run to you, use this time to health yourself once the adds are dead

Repeat this twice (66%/33%) and you have a 1% chance at Reins of the Raven Lord!

Other Tips

  • If you are unsure of yourself or are trying this for the first time, you may want to kill Talon King Ikiss first, this will ensure you are locked to the instance and if you die, you won’t have to reclear trash (Trash will respawn if you are not locked). Note that you can also skip the big trash pack before Ikiss.
  • Killing Ikiss will also allow you to track how many times you’ve done an Anzu run. I didn’t start killing Ikiss till later so I only have 50 registered kills.
  • Remember to use all your damage reduction talents, such as Barkskin and Demoralizing Roar

Lastly, if you aren’t a feral druid, you CAN do this as resto or boomkin. All you have to do is keep a rolling hot of anykind on Eagle Spirit so that it causes a 300 dmg per second dot on Anzu that does not aggro him. Continue to keep the dot rolling until you bring him down to 1-2% then quickly kill him before he can banish himself. While it is a lot slower, it is a way for non ferals to solo him.

I will post some screenshots later tonight to help with the explanation. There are lots of videos on YouTube as well to help illustrate how to do the fight. Not all of them are good examples but it gives you a jist of what needs to be done. Happy Farming!

14 Responses to “Pimp Your Druid: Soloing Anzu”


  1. 1 ARA July 7, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Nice write up. I’d like to add that if you’re in 8.5 this place is super easy. You make is sound so complex, hehe. No need to worry about mobs “hitting” you. Half the time their spells dont even hit, including the fears.

    However, I do it in full tanking gear, first 2 trash packs are dealt with via a glyphed berserk in – oh – 20 secs. The next is a swipe/mangle fest, the 4th is a swipe/mangle fest. If you’ve been really slow, berserk may be back up for this but probably not. Then, summon anzu, and because he takes forever, I run around looting the trash (once got an epic, so do it!) and healing back to full if necessary. You can activate all 3 spirit before even pulling anzu. I do this not because I need to, but because it gives me something novel to do :) Right when you get the message he’s about to banish, its safe to pop back out to reactivate the spirits. Again, you dont have to, but there’s more than enough time to hit all 3 for novelty purposes. After you’ve been doing this daily for 3 months, its nice to spice it up, right?

    You may get stunned for 4 secs in caster form… but who cares eh? Try to time your berserks on anzu between the banishes & the stuns. Its tricky. Usually finish at full health without any self heals during the anzu phase (one of the spirits heals you, I believe) and total run time (door-to-door from dalaran) is 12 mins. Fastest mount run in the game, I think, so I totally recommmend it too. Be the envy of your clothy friends with your soloing OPness.

    • 2 Vallen July 7, 2009 at 12:50 pm

      Hey Ara

      You’re right, in T8.5 you really don’t need so much precaution and really it is quite simplified. But I did want to stress this was doable back at lv 70. I used to farm this in full T6 tanking gear which was a lot more challenging back then vs the way it is now. At least this way ppl don’t feel that they shouldn’t try it until they hit 80 (although it probably would be easier!).

      I will disagree with your 12 min mount run being the fastest because Baron can be done in 3 mins ;) I’ll post on that in the near future.

  2. 3 Arwen July 16, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    OMG! Thank you I am so going to do this on my own!

  3. 4 darksend July 22, 2009 at 2:51 am

    ^ my first video was on this.

    so much easier now with 25 man hardmode gear

  4. 5 Kerlin December 24, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    u dont have the mount yet ha ha ha :) nice site all bout vallen lawl /poke

  5. 6 Air April 6, 2010 at 9:57 am

    I’ve done the quest few days ago and the moonstone vanished :( any ideas ?

  6. 7 Vallen April 6, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    Did you check your key chain?

    When you complete the quest line you get a permanent moonstone which is located there.

  7. 8 Dave May 10, 2010 at 9:04 am

    Can anyone confirm the resto way of doing it? I tried last night and Anzu was unlootable :(

    • 9 Vallen May 13, 2010 at 11:49 am

      I wrote the article over a year ago so I have no idea if they changed it or not. It should still work though I dont see why it wouldn’t. All you’re doing is essentially bringing Anzu’s health down to a point where you can kill him w/o him going into his phases.

      Id suggest just trying again or looking on the wowhead Anzu thread to see if anyone has any updated information on this

      • 10 Anonymous May 19, 2010 at 10:27 pm

        I did this as resto 18 May 2010. Heal the bird which damages Anzu till Anzu is down to 6k, hot yourself, barkskin, then starfire him and wrath till he is dead. I have seen it said you need the killing blow to be able to loot him; not sure if this is true or not.

      • 11 Mewse May 20, 2010 at 6:56 pm

        Ordinarily, if Anzu is unlootable, it just means that the server thinks that you didn’t manage to do damage to him before he died; that the spirits killed him entirely on their own. (Since the resto-approach involves waiting until just before Anzu’s health is depleted before attacking, it’s really easy for this to happen, especially if your lag to the server is high)

  8. 12 easy Ways to hypnotize someone February 28, 2013 at 1:51 am

    I’m not positive the place you’re getting your info, however great topic.
    I needs to spend a while finding out more or understanding more.
    Thank you for great info I used to be on the lookout
    for this info for my mission.

  9. 13 college graduation invitation cards July 21, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    I don’t know whether it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing issues with your blog.
    It looks like some of the written text on your content are running off the screen.
    Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me
    know if this is happening to them too? This could be a problem with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Thank you

  10. 14 seduceanddate.blogspot.com April 29, 2014 at 11:05 am

    Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this web site before
    but after looking at some of the articles I realized
    it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly delighted I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!


Leave a Reply

I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 447,497 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

