PVP, the Final Frontier

For those who have been reading and following me for a short or extended period of time, they will have probably noticed that I essentially ignore the PVP aspects of WOW. I’ve always been a fan of PVE and achievements as described in my about me section, you could say I’m a PVE Hero, PVP Zero (har har). The problem for me is, being as that I am an achievement whore, I have essentially exhausted majority of places to obtain more points which has left me with nothing left but to do PVP achievements, specifically Arena.

It doesn’t help that my battlegroup (Retaliation) is god awful and Alliance seem to lose majority of bg’s. It’s really not a fun or happy place to be as it tends to generate more stress then it relieves. While I did do the PVP grind way back in the day, that was a very long time ago, and the game was very different back then. Since then, PVP has evolved and Arena has emerged within the game and quite frankly I have no experience, desire or interest to participate in them. However, I digress as I have no choice but to try and figure out how to Arena if I want to continue pursuing my whoring of achievement points. It feels completely foreign and I have no flippin clue what I’m doing half the time which is quite strange considering I’ve played this game for almost 6 years.

So last week, we started a 5’s team (no daddy not there, no it wasn’t my idea for a name) and so far so good. Perhaps its just that the popularity of Arena has died out but it really seemed to me like the quantity of teams were few and far (probably a 5’s thing). Really good or really bad, there didn’t really seem to be a happy medium. I assume it is probably better in 3’s which is where most people play these days. First week has netted Hot Streak, Mercilessly Dedicated and Last Man Standing.

If anyone has any suggestions on information resources feel free to drop me a shout in a comment. Any advice would be welcome.

Time to teach a kitty new tricks!

ps. Playing as a Resto Druid! Feral PVP will have to wait another day…

11 Responses to “PVP, the Final Frontier”


  1. 1 Arandin July 14, 2010 at 4:33 am

    Kitty pvp is looking promising in cata! I really hope we can finally get enough “tools” to be a presence in arena and in battlegrounds.

  2. 2 Ashalia July 14, 2010 at 8:26 am

    It’s a shame that you play Resto-Druid in PvP. :P
    Real Ferals stay Feral, no matter which Spec is the “best” or most common in PvP.

    But good luck in Battlegrounds and Arena, it can be a lot of fun and an interesting experience.

    • 3 Vallen July 15, 2010 at 11:46 am

      A “real feral” is anyone that appreciates or loves the spec.

      From a PVE perspective I flip flop between resto/feral all the time. It depends on what is required and what best suits the raid for the encounter. Perfect example? LK normal I healed, LK heroic I dpsed.

      You don’t need to stay feral no matter what just to be considered a “real feral”. I consider that close minded.

      As for why I choose resto? Simple Answer: It’s what the people I play with asked for. No people to play with, no Arena team :)

  3. 4 Goodmongo July 14, 2010 at 10:56 am

    Feral in PvP is justbad. We get owned by everything. If you are going arena then you have to be restro. But BG’s are another matter. There you can still be a kitty or bear in some of them. I think with Cat BG’s will beoome popular once again but not sure areans ever will except for the few dedicated people doing them.

    • 5 Vallen July 15, 2010 at 11:48 am

      Kitty arena is out there, its just not as common or simplistic as Resto arena.

      In fact, one of the main reasons why I was interested in feral to begin with was because of feral pvp. If you’ve ever watched spoh’s feral pvp videos from Vanilla WOW you’ll know what I’m talking about.

      Would I play feral arena? Sure, but someone has to want to play with me first

      • 6 Ashalia July 15, 2010 at 12:47 pm

        It is bad that the people want a resto Druid, because i want to play that spec that i like the most and that is in fact feral. But yeah, if you want a higher rating you need to play resto or be very very good in PvP with a good mate. :)

        Blizzards mistake, not yours. I have to apologize for my first post, don’t wanted to sound that evil. ^^ Again, good luck with your achievements.

      • 7 Vallen July 15, 2010 at 12:57 pm

        No offense taken, we’re all just passionate about feral here so I understand your point of view.

        My primary goal in PVP at the moment is to get those cheese points so at this moment Resto is the easiest avenue to do that. Will I arena as feral one day? Probably! If I do I’d definitely have a lot more to post about lol

  4. 8 Terra July 15, 2010 at 7:21 am

    If your going for pvp achivements, then your in luck as feral is extremely good doing the BG ones. Although obviously if you don’t have feral pvp gear its going to be harder. Stealth just makes it so much easier, can’t imagine playing the game without stealth any more.

    I managed to get 80% of the BG achivements in about 4-6 weeks after xmas, main thing that is left are 100 wins and the ones that depend on how your entire team does, haven’t done any premades yet, will probably start making premades when if I still need the team achivements when I’m closer to the 100 wins.

    Focus on the achivements in the BGs, let the game take care of itself and go as feral.

    • 9 Vallen July 15, 2010 at 11:51 am

      I’m with ya on stealthing for achievements. It really does make it a lot simpler.

      I wouldn’t necessarily agree with you in that feral pvp gear is a necessity as I did most of my achievements in PVE gear.

      • 10 Terra July 16, 2010 at 8:17 am

        Not essential, but definitely easier, you’ll win a lot more the 1v1 fights for towers if your pvp geared

  5. 11 chckenmcbndy July 16, 2010 at 8:22 am

    I’m in the same boat as you for the arena achievements. I probably did 95% of the pvp achievements as feral, but, arena ones I pretty much getting as resto.

    While I could do them as feral it’s a matter of enjoying who I play with. I roll 2v2 with my brother who’s an Unholy DK. We tried double dps and it wasn’t pretty.

    Resto 2s with the 21/50 (picking up Insect Swarm) is actually pretty fun. Hell, I even switch to Boomkin for bg’s sometimes (just use my resto pvp gear) and that can be fun if you got a healer. Having a bad day? Nothing makes me smile like stealth typhooning some hordies of at lumber mill or at the flag in EOTS =D

    Not selling out on feral as thats what I run around as 90% of the time. Just the nature of being a hybrid and fully embracing the class.


Leave a Reply

I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 446,913 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

