Too Much Penetration

There was a blue post made on Friday (I would have updated but I don’t blog on weekends) regarding the potential changes to Armor Penetration.

Quote from: Ghostcrawler (Source)

We are now considering capping armor penetration at 100%. Armor could no longer go negative. We’re not sure if we would do this in a hotfix or in 3.1.2. We just wanted to let anyone know who is furiously trying to acquire every armor pen item in the game.

Note that there is not a not a cap on the amount of armor that can be reduced in WoW at the moment. Also note that capping armor penetration at 100% does not mean that you can always reduce every target’s armor to 0%. The tooltip says “up to” for a reason.

Yes, we understand this stat can be a little confusing.

Whats up with this potential change? My thoughts are it’s a precautionary change to prevent all melee classes from stacking ArP and ignoring all other stats, allowing a theoretical maximum much higher than anticipated. Stacking one stat only is not something new, a prime example being pre 3.1, all kitties recall stacking str gems to maximize Savage Roar even though it didn’t really make sense (logically) from a kitty/rogue philosophical perspective. What should we be doing now? Well there’s a lot of discussion going on on the Elitist Jerk forums on what gear choices should be made going forward. The choices that need to be made are highly dependent on each individual druid. Regardless of the change, you should still aim to stack towards 100% to maximize your benefit from ArP which can be done using trinkets, gear or a combination of both. Some things that need to be considered are:

  • Are you a full time kitty or a full time bear/part time kitty? (Do you have a separate kitty set?)
  • How much ArP do you have now? How close are you to the cap (100%)? With/Without a trinket?
  • Do you have access to Hard Mode IC/Naxx to obtain the ArP trinkets? (Grim Toll, Mjolner Runestone)

Personally, I am sitting at a level of ArP that is not close enough to the cap (even with Grim toll) to make it worthwhile to gem for ArP. As such I’m still gemmed purely for agility. This may/will probably change as I continue to get more ArP gear but in the interim, I’m sitting on my current gems waiting for more gear (WRU Mjolner Runestone) and the outcome of Blizzard’s changes & the discussions of the community. The last thing you want to do is gear towards a goal before the stat is balanced.

4 Responses to “Too Much Penetration”


  1. 1 Mitch May 20, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Oh goodness . . . the title . . . makes me laugh.

    Sorry, I’m immature -_-

  2. 2 Vallen May 20, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Aren’t we all a little immature? ^^

    I was also thinking “Blizzard Announces Excessive Penetration” or “Blizzard worries about Penetration”

  3. 3 Mitty May 21, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Maybe I was mistaken, but I was under the impression that you don’t need to be near the cap for ArPen to surpass Agi as our best stat. The threshhold was somewhere between 200 to 300? So with gems I think you would easily surpass that?

    I could be wrong as I often get turned around by all the different threads on EJ that discuss feral dps.

    • 4 Vallen May 26, 2009 at 3:23 pm

      I think this is best answered by looking at this graph here and here The charts try and show the relation between wasted CP via higher crit % and the damage increase in relation to increased ArP.

      Personally at 263 ArP (+612 from Grim Toll) that equates to 56.8% when procced. I could jack it up through gems but there are items that I can still obtain (Lotrafen being a prime example) that will push me pretty close to 100%. I don’t see a need to gem for ArP (partially because I’m cheap), once I close in on the maximum ArP obtainable via gear I’ll revaluate to determine if I need to regem.

      Also I’m sitting at around 60% crit (buffed) which puts me right at the mid point before wasted CP start to get heavy.


Leave a Reply

I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 452,393 hits

