Gotta Go Anub’arak

I woke up this morning to realize that we’re already into October, the year has flown by faster than I could have imagined. A couple of weeks ago I was still enjoying the summer playing a round of golf on Sunday and now it’s so cold outside that I’m ready to bust out a winter jacket. Cold weather means more time indoors and more time indoors means more blogging so I guess it’s a win win situation. Today’s topic will be Anub’arak 10 hard mode. I really don’t feel that there is a need to discuss any of the other hard modes (or normal modes) in TOC because quite frankly they’re not that hard and there really is no difference to how it’s done on normal mode.

Anub’arak Hard Mode

The following are the added changes to the fight in heroic mode:

For a complete summary of all of Anub’s abilities check out this link here.

General Tips

  • The biggest difference between Normal Mode and Heroic Mode is the management of Permafrost to stop his Pursuing Spikes. When he is about to burrow, you want to move him off the Permafrost and move towards the North and let him burow as far North as possible. Your raid should all move to the middle and wait for him to identify a target. Once the target has been picked, the target should beeline South as far as possible to again maximize the distance and the amount of travel time Anub has. By the time he reaches the targeted player he would have already travelled all the way from North to South essentially eating burrow phase time. The player should then allow him to hit Permafrost and identify a new target. Once a new target is picked the target should now move all the way North (since Anub is all the way South) and repeat the process. By doing this Anub should only target 2-3 people (depending on how efficiently you do this).
  • When kiting, be cognicent of where your Permafrost is, DO NOT blindly run in the opposite direction as if there is a Permafrost inbetween you and Anub, he will hit it and reset targets.
  • During the Burrow phase (P2), everyone should always be in the middle for several reasons. First it makes sure that if you are kiting him north or south, it will ensure there is sufficient distance for the person to run away. Secondly, it enables better management of Swarm Scarabs, ensuring they do not kill a healer and are aggroed onto a tank and can be taken care of as fast as possible. Lastly, as mentioned above, if there is Permafrost directly between you and Anub it will eat it and cause a reset, staying in the middle ensures a clear path for Anub to chase you.
  • If you have a paladin in raid you can use Blessing of Protection to sustain the kiting once Anub has reached the target. Personally once I get a BOP, I like to run circles around Permafrost until my BOP runs off🙂
  • In Phase 3, minimize the amount of healing you give to the raid. If you have a Paladin or Druid for Leader of the Pack of Judgement of Light, you should need very little raid healing. The more you heal the raid, the longer Phase 3 will persist due to Leeching Life which steals 10% of the raids health every second.
  • In Phase 3, you’ll want to kill off the set of Nerubian Burrowers that are up when you enter P3. However when the next set of Nerubian Burrowers spawn, you’ll want to start off tanking them on Permafrost and then midway you’ll want to move off and allow them to submerge. This essentially lets them go off and do their thing while it gives you time to finish off Anub.
Extremely ghetto diagram

Extremely ghetto diagram

Kitty Tips

  • As always, pop Berserk early so that it can be used again. Specifically you want to use it again in phase 3 once he begins to use Leeching Swarm and this is where your dps matters most.
  • In phase 2, many classes will get stuck on Permafrost, use Feral Charge generously to jump from add to add and kill them as fast as possible.
  • In phase 2, if you find yourself in a bad spot and you are too close to Anub and he is about to hit you with Pursuing Spikes, look around for Swarm Scarabs and try and Feral Charge them so that you can get a bit more room between you and Anub. Generally speaking you should be nowhere near Anub but in case it does happen, you have this available to you.
  • Stay on Anub and let other classes cleave the Nerubian Burrowers. Kitties have terrible startup time and the amount of time you need to swap between targets will really hurt you in the end. There are a lot of other classes (rogues/dk’s etc) that would be much better suited to handling the adds.
  • From what I’ve seen so far, I don’t think dots carry forward into his burrow phase, which is the opposite of how Anub was in Azjol’Nerub. You’re better off hitting him with a Ferocious Bite at the end and not leaving up any dots.

tribute10

So far we’ve been missing A Tribute to Mad Skill by only a few attempts (43 tries left last 2 weeks), looking to make a push this week. stay tuned!

12 Responses to “Gotta Go Anub’arak”


  1. 1 Pär October 2, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    I’m in the final stages of writing (and re-writing, and re-re-writing) a script for a movie guide on How To Feral DPS and would love to provide you an advance copy for peer review.

    I’m guessing you have a way to email me if you’re interested.

    Astrylian already went over an earlier draft and had some good stuff to say, but I’d much rather have a few more knowledgeable ferals with an eye to making things easy to understand and accessible for the non-hardcore feral.

    Cheers,

    PL

    • 2 Vallen October 6, 2009 at 9:00 am

      Hi, appreciate the offer. I’ll send you an email and you can send it to me to review. Do me a favor and leave me a comment back here so that I know to check my mail since I have a tendency to forget all the time.

  2. 3 spw November 3, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Do you change things up in 25 man? Alot of parses I see have cats swiping, and I’m doing a ton of damage but I’m wondering if I’m doing damage to the correct target. I’m thinking I should just go through my normal rotation on Anub, or at least doing that after the 1st set of adds are down. We seem to have problems getting him to P3 before the 3rd burrow.

    • 4 Vallen November 3, 2009 at 4:19 pm

      25 man is completely different from 10 man, although my guild hasn’t managed to down Anub in 25 yet. Generally speaking all the hard mode discussions are focused around 10 man but I have thought about making some discussions around the 25 man versions.

      I can try and answer any specific questions you have if you have any!

    • 5 Orion808 November 12, 2009 at 11:31 am

      We haven’t made it to Anub 25 Heroic, but complete 10 Heroic and 25 Normal all the time.

      I carry my normal rotation on Anub and use my clearcasting procs for swiping instead of shreds. I also swipe if all my DoTs are up and I have enough energy without hurting my rotation. I took Ferocious Bite out of my rotation long ago due to it’s predictability, so I have plenty of energy for extra swipes/shreds. I do use FB for a finisher like before Anub dives underground.

      • 6 Vallen November 16, 2009 at 3:43 pm

        Interesting that you took FB out of your rotation. While I do agree it’s not as useful as it was with 4PT8, it’s still a significant portion of my rotation. I still feel there’s enough room (energy wise) to drop a FB here and there. It really comes down to luck on clearcasts and crits but it is doable.

        As for Anub 25 heroic, I don’t think we (my guild) has had too much success so far but from my experiences I am spamming swipe a lot and my single target dps is almost secondary on the fight. I have a feeling I’d prefer to swap gear to put on more crit vs arp on this fight but we’ll need to put more time into it for me to really decide.

  3. 7 Orion808 November 16, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    I took it out because I was tired of it’s unreliability. Seeing a crit shred doing a decent more damage than a FB non-ccrit is frustrating, especially counting in the energy used to make the FB happen.

    I have a high-crit build. As such, I rack up combo-points easily. I use this for 95%+ Savage roar uptime and 80%+ uptime for Rip. Check out a log that’s a good example (though I did have to mangle-bot due to no other druid or trauma)… http://www.worldoflogs.com/reports/rt-dq3ef7v6g9evgbt4/sum/damageDone/?s=992&e=1561

    I used the points in Feral Aggression in other places, mainly for a more hybrid build that allows me to have Cat as my main spec, Heals as my off spec, and Bear as my 2nd offspec.

    I won’t steal anymore of this blog’s time. If you need me, contact me at my website (link in my user name).

    • 8 Vallen November 16, 2009 at 5:28 pm

      I tried finding a good comparison point in terms of dps between your WOL and mine but I couldn’t find anything that matched. Best I could find was yours and mine for Jaraxxus 25 HM. I have a feeling you were doing some tanking which might have decreased your dps. (The person that enters logs loves to forget to turn it on for Northern Beasts)

      If you’ve got a high crit build you should have a lot of excess energy would would tend to favor greater chances to FB. My feelings is w/o FB you aren’t pushing the threshold of what dps you can generate. The downside naturally is your SR, rake, rip will have more chances to fall off if you aren’t careful. In the end it’s dependent on your play style.

  4. 9 Orion808 November 17, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Yeah, I was helping out a little on the adds from time to time. Reading the data, seems I tanked a Misstress for a few until our OT grabbed it. We must have had 2 pop for some reason. Most likely it occurred at 21:16:50, but I’m just noting my drastic DPS decrease to determine when.

    Jarraxxus is a bad example for me in general because I need to learn how to save up energy a little for when we have to switch targets to a portal/volcano and we only use 2 tanks with me acting a 3rd only on a possible 2nd Misstress or on the 2nd Infernal until the OT has his wits. We put out more DPS as a group that way.

  5. 10 Orion808 November 17, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    This is a snapshot of mine from Jaraxxus where we used 3 tanks, oddly enough…so I was full DPS.

    http://www.worldoflogs.com/reports/rt-ghlvwpkugkifbe1x/sum/damageDone/?s=3252&e=3657

    Note by my breakdown that Shred is critting on average for 12.1k while FB is critting on average for 16.7k. Yes, I’m using FB, but only to finish off portals/volcanos when we needed a quicker death and hopefully when SR was already up on me.

    Keep in mind also that FB causes me to loose my combo points, and makes it harder to keep up SR and Rip. I’ve found that these uptimes, along with Rake, are my playstyle that works.

  6. 11 Inzomnia November 29, 2009 at 8:20 am

    From various theorycrafts it has been proven that FB is not worth its energy currently. Regardless of ‘crit-builds’ vs ‘arp-build’.
    You may think theoreticaly its a waste not to, but this realy is far from the truth. Showing parses of fero actualy doing well, does not prove anything. I know smokers who lived to be 100, this does not make it healthy. It IS unreliable, and overall willl mess up uptime of far more valuable things: rip / sav roar.
    Do as you please ofc, there is the rare occasion where a FB is good as mentioned here to finish off certain ‘must_die_nao’ targets. Other then that: overcap, keep shredding, do_not_bother.

    Inzomnia – Quel’Thalas Horde EU.

    • 12 Vallen December 2, 2009 at 5:57 pm

      I’d like to point out that this is not a kitty kat theorycrafting blog nor do I have any intentions to make it that. I made this blog to discuss raiding as a kitty kat and leave theorycrafting to those who are better qualified.

      I’d also like to point out that perhaps my wording of “significant portion of my rotation” is probably being taken out of context. Firstly there is no such thing as a rotation, it’s most just a generalized word used to describe dpsing, perhaps the better word to use is priority. Secondly, the tip that I provided in my original post of using FB before submerge is CORRECT as your dots do not stick once Anub submerges so the the advice was sound. Thirdly I still us FB often but it is completely situational, for example if I get lucky on clearcasts and I’ve just dropped a 5 cp rip and I still have 80-100 energy, hell ya I’m going to FB, waiting there with 100% energy with full duration dots doesn’t make sense. Also it will be used in specific situations, such as the worms on beasts before submerge or anub before submerge, dropping a full duration dots before submerge just so they can get wiped out also doesn’t make sense.

      From various theorycrafts it has been proven that FB is not worth its energy currently. Regardless of ‘crit-builds’ vs ‘arp-build’.

      I haven’t read any concrete posts that would suggest this so if you would like to share this with myself and fellow readers I think everyone would benefit from this information.

      Finally, I welcome any criticism or comments that would make myself and any readers a better player. I however do not welcome sarcastic metaphors that really insult me and do not add any value to this blog. So with that being said, I encourage you to post your information so that this discussion can continue forward.

      Vallen


Leave a Reply

I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 452,391 hits

