Define: Druid?

Just a quick update today, but World of Raids has posted “updated” Blizzard descriptions of each class. In other words, when a new player were to read about each class, this is how they now describe druids.

Druids are shape-shifters with an affinity for the plant and animal kingdoms. There are three types of druids: Balance druids who cast Nature or Arcane spells at range, Feral druids who can take on the form of a cat or bear to fight in melee, or Restoration druids who can heal their allies with an emphasis on heal-over-time spells. All druids can shift into a variety of forms for travel or defense. Druid stats depend on their role. Healers desire Intellect and Spirit. Casters desire Intellect. Cats like Agility. Bears like Strength and Stamina.

This is the original description:

Druids are the keepers of the world and masters of nature with a diverse array of abilities. They are powerful healers, capable of curing poisons and raising fallen comrades in the thick of battle. Druids also command nature’s wrath, calling down ranged blasts of energy, summoning swarms of insects, or entangling their foes in the earth. But druids are also masters of the wild, able to shapeshift into a great bear, cat, or even sea lion, gaining their powers in combat or travel. Druids are a diverse class with a variety of playstyles, capable of filling any role.

The Druid gives players several play style options. A Druid in normal form is a caster that can fight with spells or weapons. In Bear form the Druid becomes a Warrior with Rage. While in Cat form the Druid becomes a Rogue with Energy and stealth. The Druid can also transform into two other special animal forms. With its ability to heal itself and fellow characters, the Druid can also take on the role of a Priest. A Druid is not as versatile in its abilities as a Priest is, lacking the spells Power Word: Shield, but is otherwise a very capable healer.

The description is more compact now and to the point where you can be one of 3 types and each type relies heavily on different stats (No mention of ArP for kitties!). Looking back at the original description I do find it amusing that they refer to druids are “not as versatile” as a priest lacking PWS. Back in the day, as many of us know there really was only one druid spec (resto) and there really was only one style of healing (Rank 4 HT spam!). Personally I didn’t start playing a druid, I actually started off as a Mage (picked a Mage from my D2 playing days). I played my Mage till about Chromaggus in BWL when my guild at the time was lacking healers so I decided to reroll Druid since we didn’t have many and added more versatility to the raid and I’ve been playing my Druid since.

How did you all start playing your druid?

6 Responses to “Define: Druid?”


  1. 1 Hana October 6, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    I was a complete nub and my druid was my first character. I don’t remember much of my original decision other than I probably thought it was cool to change into different animals.

    But then once I started playing (this being during vanilla WoW) I ended up being a boomkin… back when boomkins sucked and if you saw one it was probably somebody just fooling around. I still remember when the melee attack power talent was in the balance tree along with the shapeshift mana cost reduction if you shifted to a second form right after leaving the first.

    I was probably one of the least competant druids out there, but I got better.🙂 That nub druid is still my main, still a boomkin, though I now have my feral off-spec for turning into animals.

  2. 2 al October 6, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Wow, I started as a mage too, played one since vanilla days, finally leveled my druid to 80 3 months ago, just because I got sick of doing just DPS. It’s been awesome, tanking and healing, and never having any trouble finding a group to run heroics.

  3. 3 Vallen October 6, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    For some odd reason, I feel like a lot of druids started off as mages that converted into druids. I know at least 3-4 people who did the same back in the day.

    As much fun as Rank 4 HT spam was in vanilla wow, I would have to say vanilla feral was pretty amazing too. Sure the spec was completely broken and didn’t really make any sense, but if you could get the gear (pvp gear mixed with aq40 gear) wow you were completely unstoppable. Spoh’s ferals videos from back then were absolutely amazing.

  4. 4 Alaron October 6, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    I was a warlock reroll (so semi-magey, and I actually would have preferred the mage, I think). I like the old description better, though…I would have kept the first few sentences, added a sentence about feral druids, made it clear that you couldn’t do all this at once (Some druids specialize in XXX, while others…), and called it a day.

  5. 5 Vaneris October 7, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    I started out playing a rogue in TBC, leveled that to 70 and got into some raiding, during the summer when raids were harder to get together I decided to level an alt for something to do. I started tanking some heroics and such and began to enjoy it alot more, so when WotLK came around I decided to become a full time tanking teddy!

    Love the blog dude, keep it up🙂

  6. 6 Lustriga October 14, 2009 at 11:07 am

    I was (and still am for a limited time) a (shadow) priest ^_^;;

    Something baout druids must appeal to the casters as another S-Priest freind also rerolled to her bear for WotLK (before quitting😦 )

    Personally my druid was supposed to be something different for my first alliance character (yes i’m a hordie :p) And I really enjoyed him, makign him the first character I took to 80 and even tanking som early WotLK raids with him. I then fell to the side with him after my reasons for being alliance faded and my poor druid was left all to himself. Luckily through the new faction change he is now a cow and on a server and now playing as a kitty rather than a bear. In the week and a half his gear level has shot up from Naxx blues to Epicced out running ToC10 and not coming last on DPS.
    ❤ Kitty


Leave a Reply

I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 452,393 hits

