Pimp Your Druid: Soloing Attumen the Huntsman

I’ve taken a very long break on my Pimp Your Druid series, but Bear Pelt kindly nudged me to get back on track so I took the time to go back and do it/take some screenshots so here it is the 4th installment! This article will focus on soloing Attumen the Huntsman to obtain your very own Fiery Warhorse Reins from Karazhan. As you can imagine, the difficulty of this one is starting to ramp up in comparison to some of the other soloable bosses I’ve discussed, however it is not as difficult as you would think. Before anyone cries foul and says you need a specific spec/gear, let it be known that I did this at lv 70 in a bear spec so it is very much doable with whatever gear you have!

Prerequisite

  • You must be in a raid to enter Karazhan
  • You must have The Master’s Key to open the doors to Karazhan, if you do not have the key, you can start your attunement with Restless Activity
  • You do not have to be lv 80 to do this however I highly recommend you be 80 and  if you aren’t, do this in a bear spec

What gear do I need?

The answer is “it depends”. As I mentioned at the beginning of the article I did this at lv 70. However I did it with full T6, full bear spec, full consumables. Naturally I wouldn’t recommend it as it is quite tricky but it is possible. Now lets assume that most people who are gunning for this are lv 80 if that is the case, it really comes down to what you feel more comfortable with. If you are a full bear spec with a half decent tanking set you probably don’t even need to kite (explained below). If you’re like me and don’t have a bear spec and only a half assed bear set, then you probably just want to get as much stam on as possible and kite once or twice. Naturally any consumables or food buffs will always be advantageous.

Getting There/Clearing Trash

  • You must clear all trash on route to Attumen, if you do not clear all the trash prior to Attumen it will aggro once you pull and you’re in for a big repair bill.
  • You must clear the 2 humanoid packs behind Attument in the blacksmith area as well, this is to ensure you have room to kite Attument

How to Solo Attumen the Huntsman

Lets start with a quick overview of the fight. Attumen is a multi phase fight, where at first he is on top of his mount (Midnight). Once you start dpsing and you bring him down to 95% he will dismount and you will have to deal with both Attumen and Midnight at the same time. This is the toughest part of the fight since both of them are hitting you at the same time, as such you want to get out of this phase as fast as possible. While you can dps either Attumen or Midnight, I would personally recommend you focus on Midnight as Attumen is immune to bleed effects. Once Midnight hits 25%, Attumen will remount and their HP will rise to whoever has the highest HP of the two. Once Attumen remounts, the amount of damage going around will be significantly less and becomes a lot simpler and all you have to do is burn down to 0%.

There are a few specific abilities that Attumen has that you should be aware of and watch out for:

  • Shadow Cleave: Cleave attack for around 4k.
  • Intangible Presence: Casts every 30 seconds a wide-area curse that reduces chance to hit with melee attacks, ranged attacks and spells by 50%.
  • Berserker Charge: After Attumen is mounted, he periodically does a charge on a chosen target. This does over 6k on cloth, and causes a knockdown effect.

The hit reduction is very annoying, so make sure you do not pop Berserk when that is up. The charge however is not really a big deal because he will only charge if you are out of range which will only happen if you are kiting him. Lets get to the actual strategy now.

So as I mentioned above, make sure you clear all trash, this is very important not only because the trash packs prior will aggro once you pull (trust me I’ve tried) and also because you need room to move around behind Attumen. Here’s a screenshot of what it should look like behind Attumen once you cleared the trash packs.

Empty room for kiting purposes

Before you pull, lets look at the kiting strategy involved. Run up the stairs to where the staircase meets the wooden pole. In the screenshot above you can see it at the top of the ss near the middle. This is the point that you want to tank Attumen. The specific reason for this is because if you run into problems where you are low HP, you can jump down and heal yourself. The key here is that you want to jump to your RIGHT because Attumen will not follow you and he will run down the stairs -> through the blacksmithing area -> through his spawn point -> to get to you. This will give you about 10s to heal yourself! Once you’ve healed yourself you can then start moving him back to the staircase in case you need to kite him again.

Super ghetto paint job, You go right (green) and Attumen goes left (red) which will give you ~10s to heal yourself. Also notice the big pole in front of me, that's the tanking spot.

Sample tanking of Attumen, note I popped Berserk with the -hit debuff?😦

Jumping down to heal myself, notice Attumen is nowhere to be seen.

Once Attumen comes around the corner and you are in LOS he will charge you and you want to make sure you are in Bear Form by the time that happens. The last thing you want is to get caught in caster form when he comes charging at you. You can repeat this kiting strategy as many times as you need to. At 70 it took many trips around the staircase to kill him but last night it only took 1 trip so it will really depend on what gear/spec you are.

No luck today, better luck next time, can you guess what trinket I have on?

That concludes my Attumen soloing guide. Karazhan has a weekly raid timer so unfortunately you can only do this once a week.  I will admit I’ve slacked on farming mounts as of late but make sure you keep at it because you never know when it will drop! Next up on the Pimp your Druid series will be how to solo Magister’s Terrace for your very own Swift White Hawkstrider

15 Responses to “Pimp Your Druid: Soloing Attumen the Huntsman”


  1. 1 Deandre - Dalaran January 26, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Just to make sure I have this right, you had mostly your cat kit on while in bear form and probably in your cat spec, which you made up for with kiting? I’m just trying to get an idea on the difficulty on this before I start making farm attempts.

    • 2 Vallen January 26, 2010 at 2:24 pm

      Hi Deandre,

      Yes I am using my regular cat pve raiding spec, wearing a mix of cat gear + some stam items (I used double brewfest stam trinkets as an example) while in bear form.

      The difficulty with today’s gear should be pretty minimal, the kiting is purely optional at this point depending on what gear/spec you have.

      • 3 Vallen January 26, 2010 at 2:47 pm

        I took a peek at your armory, based on what gear you have and also that you have a bear spec I bet you can just tank him outright.

        But feel free to give the kiting a try for shits and giggles🙂

      • 4 Deandre - Dalaran January 29, 2010 at 9:54 am

        It’d be good practice anyway, might help me get ready to solo some other things.

  2. 5 jao January 26, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    I remember doing this with naxx25 gear, and having zero issues with damage taken, I only had to pop survival instincts and frenzied regen to heal myself at the end, other than that I never had to bother casting a heal on myself. Not sure why you had to kite anything with 3 pieces of t10😦

    maybe it was before some of the nerfs to armor…

    • 6 Vallen January 26, 2010 at 2:29 pm

      If I were bear specced and wearing proper bear gear I would completely agree with you that no kiting/healing is required. However, I am wearing mainly cat gear with some bear trinkets which does require a little bit of healing.

      Also the point of showing how to kite Attumen is to demonstrate that you do not need a high level of gear or even a bear spec to do this. The point of the article is to show that this is doable by anyone not just by people who have good gear.

      As I mentioned in the article, I used to do this at lv 70 which is much harder and requires a lot (A LOT) of kiting🙂

  3. 7 Dukkha January 26, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    cause he has alll arpppp gems. and he was wearing the skull of gul’dan

  4. 9 Bear Pelt January 26, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    Thank you!😀 I simply adore your ‘Pimp Your Druid’ series! Thanks to them I’ve gotten my Raven Lord mount, and am farming the ZG mounts without much problems. Looking forward to the MGT post; I have a feeling I’ll stop wiping there now (it’s usually the Princess fight that does me in >.<)!

  5. 12 Mikey January 26, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    I just wear my tanking gear and kick his ass. Imp Leader of the Pack outheals his damage and I don’t even use any cooldowns other than berserk. *shrugs*

  6. 13 Vallen January 27, 2010 at 12:14 am

    I’d like to reiterate that this is a kitty blog and as such focuses on things for kitties to do. If this were a bear blog then yes you’re right you just sit there and mash 3 buttons.

    However if you were to do this in a kitty spec in kitty gear, I guarantee you, your results would be very different with the same approach.

  7. 14 Dendro January 27, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    Maybe I’m a bit crazy to dwell on this, but the horse’s name is actually Midnight, not Nightmare.


Leave a Reply

I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 452,391 hits

