Glory of the Icecrown Raider (10 Player)

Its been a fortuitous past couple of days. Anzu decided to finally play nice after 132 tries and last night we went in and completed the meta achievement for Glory of the Icecrown Raider (10 Player). Last week we knocked off heroic Putricide which was the last heroic wing on the list and we were only left with All You Can Eat and Neck-Deep in Vile so our focus this week was to get our protodrakes.

The unfortunate thing was we had to re-clear the instance so we took shortcuts where we could by skipping unecessary hard modes. It took about 2 hours to get to Sindragosa but when we did there, the achievement didn’t cause us too many problems most likely due to the change to Mystic Buffet being increased to a 6s timer (previously 5s). As we got close to completing this achievement we were starting to get pumped for our drakes with only Neck-Deep in Vile left. Suddenly though, the meta completed itself without Neck-Deep in Vile and our Bloodbathed Frostbrood Vanquisher were in the mail! Interestingly enough it seems that this is something that has occurred to many people across many realms where that achievement is no longer required to complete the meta. Thinking about it, it kind of makes sense since Neck-Deep in Vile heavily favors a caster group and is extremely difficult with a melee heavy group. We haven’t heard any news yet on whether this was intended or not but I guess we will find out soon.

*EDIT* Yup it was taken out

Quote from: Bornakk (Source)

The Glory of the Icecrown Raider (10 player) meta achievement no longer requires Neck-Deep in Vile to be completed.

In the meantime here are some sexy drake screenshots!

9/10 aint bad right?

Attracting a crowd...

If you aren’t living under a rock you’ll probably have realized that 3.3.3 is now out which have come with a few feral changes. I wont bother listing them since quite frankly every feral blogger in the universe already has so if you want to read the patch notes, take a look at them here. I will however mention a few unannounced changes that we experienced in ICC:

  • Gunship cannons cannot spam 1 anymore, making the fight a lot longer (and annoying) than it used to be
  • Festergut heroic now marks the ground with big green circles where the malleable goo will land
  • Raging Spirits on Arthas now spawn quickly without a delay
  • Neck-Deck in Vile is no longer required for the Glory of the Icecrown Raider meta
  • Blood Prince Kinetic Bombs are spawning outside of the room and can be ignored (I cant confirm this, I just heard this)

Onwards to Heroic Arthas!

9 Responses to “Glory of the Icecrown Raider (10 Player)”


  1. 1 Willféral March 24, 2010 at 10:11 am

    Total Congrats to you on you super stylin’ mount.
    I am so jealous..

  2. 2 Mitch March 24, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM That will make me so happy to hear about the achievement not in the meta.

    I figured I could get a decent boomkin set ready by next week to help get the achievement and not screw our sometimes heavy melee group over by having to take turns, but hopefully that won’t be necessary anymore.

    And they were so set on taking as many screenshots as they could while I was a fatty chicken. IN THEIR FACE! lol =D

    • 3 Vallen March 25, 2010 at 10:51 am

      I hear ya Mitch.

      I’ve been collecting Boomkin gear for a few weeks now and I was planning to offspec heal as a boomkin since we dont really need 3 healers anymore.

      god I hate chickens…

  3. 4 wendy March 24, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Congrats on the drakes!

    A comment on the gunship battle: I was in a cannon last night and was able to spam 1 to my heart’s content. My guildy in the other cannon was not able to and was shooting maybe a third of the cannonballs I was. Perhaps this is an interface problem vs. an actual in game change.

  4. 5 lol March 24, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    frost wyrms. not proto drakes

  5. 7 Kwukama March 25, 2010 at 2:55 pm

    Hi there. I’m a big fan of your website and have always loved my feral druid. Sorry this has nothing to do with your meta (gz btw) but i didn’t know where to leave this kind of response. I was wondering with the new changes to the feral druid in patch 3.3, has it changed your talent spec in any way. I feel due to the longer duration of mangle is it really worth specing into “Improved mangle” because it won’t be used as often as it was pre patch. Therefore the energy once used would instead be used for extra shreds or finishing moves. I don’t know what sort of rotation you use and whether your a fan of FB but the extra points in there if you don’t already have it maxed out could be more of a dps increase compared to the energy reduction of mangle (cat).
    I’m sure an expert like yourself would be the perfect man to answer the question😀.
    If you have already created a post and i’m being blind, i’m sorry. If you could direct me that would be awesome.
    Once again, thanks and keep up the good work. Looking forward to the new series in your pimp your druid and Hard mode tips.
    Kwuk.

    • 8 Vallen April 7, 2010 at 11:07 am

      Hi Kwukama,

      Sorry for the late reply, hopefully you’ll still be checking this.

      Personally it didn’t change my spec at all, simply because my I raid 10/25 man with a fdruid tank and an arms warrior as well so I never mangle in the first place. However I would assume a lot of kitty kats that have a requirement to keep mangle up for their raids probably specced 3/3 Imp Mangle. If thats the case then you’d probably want to redistribute those points elsewhere.

      I keep my 3 extra pts in Feral Aggression (5/5) because I do utilize FB when appropriate. When used correctly it can be a good way to squeeze out some extra dps.

      Hope that helps!

  6. 9 Zenko March 29, 2010 at 7:22 am

    Just to let you know, Neck-Deep in Vile was removed only from the 10man meta, 25 stays as it was.
    Oh and grats on the wyrms🙂


Leave a Reply

I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 452,393 hits

