Remembering Classic Feral PVP

As I mentioned in a recent post, I started my journey into arenas. With RS/ICC only taking 1.5 days a week there’s a lot of spare time which has been filled with Arenas & farming Mimi Heads!

So lets start with an quick PVP update. How am I doing? Surprisingly Well! I started with 5’s three weeks ago and we’ve been steadily going up each week with a successful push past 2k. Last week I picked up my 1800 MH/OH (Wrathful Gladiator’s Blade of Alacrity/Wrathful Gladiator’s Compendium) and on Tuesday I got my Wrathful Gladiator’s Kodohide Spaulders which personally I think are pretty sexy looking. I am pretty amazed at the sustainability of a rdruid in PVP gear and the more gear I get, the harder I’ll be to kill.

Now I only need Wrathful Helm/Pants/Chest & 2200 Weapon which will cost me a grand total of 11,060 points. With 1000+ pts a week & pvp daily (25*7=175) that’s 1175+ pts a week or just over 9 weeks to complete. Maybe I’ll get lucky and pickup the pants via VOA, still hoping for that (fingers crossed).

Forgot to take a screenshot, but here is the armory pose!

I’ve also recently been running a lot of battlegrounds the past few weeks, and so I decided to waste some excess honour points and buy the old Classic Lv 60 pvp set. Back in the day I did participate in the classic PVP grind and achieved the rank of Commander. It was at a time when I was still in school and could afford to play 20 hours a day (yes that number is 20) and on a high pop server like Warsong that’s what it took to get the compete. The Marshall set is not only a beauty but it does bring back some old memories of classic level 60 feral PVP which I did quite a bit of. It also reminded me that feral PVP is actually one of the first things that got me interested in feral in the first place.

There was one person in particular really inspired me to feral PVP and that was Spoh. For those who don’t know, Spoh was a druid back from Vanilla Warsong who made quite the name for himself. He naturally was a Rank 14 (Grand Marshal) but more importantly he made several unique feral pvp videos. In a time when hybrids did not exist and the feral tree was essentially an ignored tree with no viability he showed a very different way of playing druid. He was definitely a pioneer back in the day and I’m sure inspired many others just like myself. Spoh still plays today on another server (armory link) and still consistently does well every Arena season. If you’ve never watched his PVP videos I’d strongly suggest you give em a gander and see what it used to be like back in the day.

#1 – Spoh – Rank 14 Druid PVP Change

#2 – Spoh – True Form  – Rank 14 Druid

#3 – Spoh 3 – Unique

#4 – Spoh 4 – Believe

Salute to you Spoh!

7 Responses to “Remembering Classic Feral PVP”


  1. 1 Goodmongo July 28, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    Feral PvP today stinks and is almost completely broken.

  2. 3 Goodmongo July 29, 2010 at 9:57 am

    You may love playing feral in PvP but that doesn’t take away from my comment that feral in PvP, especially arena is bad. Primary reason is shred is number one attack for us and you have to be behind. Now if shred was allowed to be used from any angle then that would help cats in PvP greatly.

  3. 4 Arandin July 31, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    Feral is not completely worthless in arena, with a rogue you can get him to stunlock while you beat the shit out of the person singled out, then you communicate on your stuns and make sure the other guy stays sapped/blinded/cycloned/bashed, it’s really a good comp there are quite a few 2.5k + with the comp. If it all fails and you are getting beat on by a melee, switch to bear form and play the survival game, you have to realize feral pvp isn’t all about cat form.

  4. 5 darksend August 1, 2010 at 10:42 am

    spoh and rick were both very good friends of mine (played with them on warsong – when rick was a paladin – and altar of storms) man I miss those days.

    • 6 Vallen August 9, 2010 at 5:00 pm

      I didn’t really know spoh back then as I was still getting into raiding and wasn’t really part of the premier raid scene of Warsong (back in the day). I do recall being in a few green dragon runs with spoh but that was really whoever was online at the time.

      I agree with you DS, those days were truly some of the best days of wow. However I would trade all that for wotlk wow as it suits my lifestyle/rl schedule much better than raiding 6 days a week😉

  5. 7 Karishna August 4, 2010 at 5:29 am

    Ehhh?? Since when did you have a blog vallen?o_O


Leave a Reply

I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 452,393 hits

