Gold Capped!

On November 11th, 2009 I posted that I had just reached 100,000g. At the time I did say I wasn’t sure if I would keep pushing and go for the gold cap. I kind of took it easy and wouldn’t you know it, slowly but surely my gold continued to go up. By the time I reached closer to 200k I figured well why the heck why not? Today I reached the gold cap which is a grand total of 214,748g 36s 46c Whoo! For those wondering, once you hit the cap, you can continue looting gold but you wont actually gain anymore gold. It just stays static at the cap amount.

Time to 100,000g

Time to 214,748g 36s 46c (Gold Cap)

So at the time when I reached 100,000g, I had done it at a rate of about 367g per day. At the time I had made this calculation:

Finally, if I did decide to try and hit the cap, using the rate at which I earn gold (367g per day) it would take… *drumroll* another 312 days played… Probably not a good idea :)

Granted this included Vanilla/TBC time and the gold earning potential was not as high. But the interesting thing is going from 100,000g to 214,748g (gold cap), I averaged 2049g over the 56 days since reaching 100k. That’s a pretty sick (and depressing) statistic. Don’t know how that worked but there you have it. Guess it didn’t take 312 days as I predicted but its still a pretty cool feat to achieve. Perhaps Blizzard (if you’re reading) you could create a FOS for this? *nudge nudge*.

Time to blow some money on stupid achievements.

11 Responses to “Gold Capped!”


  1. 1 Ilnezhara Eonar August 18, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    Hey Rar, huge lurking fan and I read your blog a lot (I’m a cat and have tried all the solos you suggested and succeeded). Where I succeed less is in making gold, how in the world do you get so much gold?! D: (any tips would be appreciated)

  2. 2 Enzoh August 19, 2010 at 5:59 am

    Oh wauw, thats a whole lot of gold right there! – thought about saving some for cataclysm?, i mean you could probably earn it all back by getting mats or craft some of the new items since they’re usually overpriced right when an expasion hits😮

  3. 3 Ampzilla August 19, 2010 at 10:45 am

    I’d like to second Ilnezhara Eonar, how in the heck did you make all of this gold? Is it as obvious as just doing dailies and making smart decisions or did you play the Auction House and all that jazz?

    How about a future post listing some helpful hints for making gold. The max I ever had was around 30,000 and then I bought a Mechano-hog and I’ve been floating around 15k every since.

  4. 4 Vallen August 19, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    @Ilnezhara

    Nice to see a new face in the comments section! Glad to hear you’ve had success at Pimping Your Druid!

    @Ampzilla/Ilnezhara

    Making gold is as much a part of the game as PVE or PVP. Some people that’s all they do trolling the AH constantly making big bucks. Personally the way I see it, its not a job, its not real money so with that philosophy, no I do not work the AH. I do sell items infrequently and I do not try and control any markets.

    Instead my success in gold can be attributed to a few factors. (in no particular order)

    1. Dailies
    2. Selling Raid Slots
    3. Understanding Market Trends
    4. Old Content

    Based on your feedback perhaps I will make a post and get into greater detail. For now I’ll leave you with a bit of a tease and I begin working on a post.

  5. 5 Goodmongo August 19, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    Selling raid slots has to be the big money maker. Dailies, old content are time sinks. Can maybe get 400 gold per hour there. Not sure what you meant by market trends since you said you didn’t play the AH.

  6. 6 Ampzilla August 19, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Yeah, Dailies and old content can’t possibly net you 2k+ gold a day, I’m assuming you’ve either done some GDKP runs or like you said most of the gold is from selling achievements.

    Unfortunately I don’t have an alt that I have readily available that’s geared enough to host something like that.

  7. 7 Vallen August 19, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    Remember that its 2k for 56 /played days (56*24 hrs) not 56 days played. That would be clearly ridiculous amount of earning potential!

    So that being said, lets assume I play an average of 5 hrs a day, if so that’s (24*56 = 1344 hrs / 5 hrs per day = 268 days). So really we’re talking about an average of 428g per day.

    As for the details behind it, I’m writing up the post as we speak, expect something shortly!

  8. 8 Ashalia August 20, 2010 at 4:57 am

    I think raiding and / or older content are quite good in making money. I am too lazy to make the same Quests every day, so i got most of my gold due to 10/25 raids (and their quests) and farming ZulGurub oder Karazhan bosses sometimes (= gold which i loot). As long as you are not in progress and wiping a lot, the gold is slowly going up, at least in my case. But i “only” have 40k+ Gold, not such an amount like Vallen. ^^

    But i am a bit greedy as well, i dont buy everything i need. I am farming my Mats for Enchants, Pots, … . Maybe thats a trick too. If you avoid the AH, you dont loose your money so fast.🙂

    Can’t wait to read your post about making more money. I wanted to hit 50k until cataclysm ships, but i think i will not get it.

  9. 9 chckenmcbndy August 27, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Understanding trends can’t net you huge profits. One example: This weekend cardinal rubies dipped down to 70-80g per on my server. Everyone was using their pvp honor for them. I bought up around 50 of them throughtout the weekend.

    By Tuesday night (when everyone is raiding) cardinal rubies were back up to 100g per. I was able to post my cut gems at 100g and sell with no competition.

    People complain “how do you make gold when you sell the cut gems at the cost of mats?”.

    As you can see in this example I don’t. I simply plan ahead and play the market.

  10. 10 Zaketh September 1, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    This will never be a feat of strength, guild banks tend to have in the upwards of several hundred thousand gold. My guild bank (which houses myself, and 3 or 4 personal friends.. not even a real guild) has well over 300,000g in it. For this to be a FOS, all you have to do is withdraw the gold, earn the achievement, give it to another guildie, and so on down the line. Thumbs down to free, ludicrous, pointless FOS’.

    • 11 Vallen September 2, 2010 at 9:29 am

      That’s like saying thumbs down pre cata credit for we are legendary because we can pass legendaries around via ginvite. There’s always ways to design achievements/FOS to recognize the effort of people.

      What are FOS anyways? They are by nature, free, ludicrous and generally pointless. But we want em.


Leave a Reply

I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 452,393 hits

