We think Feral cat dps is too low and we will be buffing them.

Shame on anyone that jumped ship after a day of 4.01 or contributed to the hysterical obscene amounts of QQ.

Originally Posted by Ghostcrawler (Source)
Rather than try and address multiple threads, I’m just going to plop our current thoughts in this one post. Please excuse the brevity. 

1) We think Fury, Arms, Feral cat and Retribution dps is too low and we will be buffing them.

2) We think mage dps is too high, especially Fire, and will be nerfing it.

3) We think Shadow priest dps is too high, but that’s largely a result of Shadow Word: Death spam, which is tough on healers. We’ll be fixing that.

4) We think Destro warlock dps is too high, but that’s largely a result of Searing Pain spam, which is tough on tanks. We’ll be fixing that.

5) As we suspected, PvP dps is just too high given that the health pools of Cataclysm haven’t kicked in yet. While competitive PvP is over for the moment, we still want the environment to feel better so we will be buffing resilience. This change might be reverted at level 85.

There will probably be more changes after another night of raiding and BGs. Many of the bug fixes we have made today will affect dps as well. Stay tuned.

19 Responses to “We think Feral cat dps is too low and we will be buffing them.”


  1. 1 Nich October 14, 2010 at 12:29 am

    Some of the QQ has been obscene, but you have to wonder what Blizzard were doing in their internal testing, and with PTR and Beta data, if this is some big surprise for them that they are only now resolving : )

  2. 2 Golle October 14, 2010 at 6:40 am

    I’m astounded they actually went out with a patch when every single player on the PTR said things were wrong and should have been taken a look at.

    • 3 Vallen October 14, 2010 at 9:12 am

      Its hard to really tune something when on a PTR all you really have as a comparison point is people wacking dummies. You kind of need to see it on live when people are in raids to truly get a feel for how much/little needs to be tuned.

      Not that I know anything about development of mmo’s but it makes logical sense to me that the sample size is too small

  3. 4 Goodmongo October 14, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I never jumped ship. I was dual spec and specced bear and left the other open. Then went to play on my shadow priest and warlock. LOL

    It is really nice to see that they realized this huge issue and are going to do something about it. And a stealth buff already seemed to hit because the numbers from Tuesday went up for people on Wednesday. Will be interesting to see where they settle in the next 6 weeks.

  4. 5 Gathros October 14, 2010 at 10:09 am

    good that they will be buffing feral again, it will be the only spec i realy love.
    but stating that retri dps is to low is wrong, unless they want to elevate them to some sort of demi god status, atm i am crushing better geared people with my ret and it just feels a bit op again. cant say much for the other classes but ret is not low at all

  5. 6 Kairell October 14, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    For me, as a feral druid, it was like this: I can’t injure people. People can kill me in 3 seconds.

    Things have changed for worse at first glance. I guess is a matter of reforging, re-gemming, re-enchanting, and some other “res” on the way.

    But it was good to see that blue post. In other words: “Woops!!! We did poopoo!”
    😀

    Big cheers!

  6. 7 Sopa October 14, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    It is because of that QQ and the people jumping the boat that they actually fixed the problem. Otherwise they dont give a crap. Always been that way, always will.

    • 8 Vallen October 14, 2010 at 2:50 pm

      Constructive comments & feedback, yes completely agree.

      The “OMG YOU BROKE FERAL DPS ITS DEAD IM DELETING MY TOON AND UNSUBSCRIBING FROM WOW BECAUSE YOU RUINED THE GAME” is what I would call QQ and what I would consider irrelevant to game decisions.

  7. 9 zelmaru October 14, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    I’m so relieved. Feral DPS > ALL! As a frequent abuser of feral charge – cat (or as I like to yell “DEATH FROM ABOVE!!!”) I am frothing with anticipation about pouncing and then ravaging the crap outta the mob.

  8. 10 Oruam October 14, 2010 at 7:05 pm

    IMO they buffed shred and bleeds
    can someone confirm this?

  9. 11 Arandin October 15, 2010 at 5:48 am

    It’s great and all that the damage is being buffed, but my kitty addon still hasn’t been updated and i kind of doubt that it will be considering it hasn’t been updated by the creator in a pretty long time:/. I can live without it for now, but sometimes it’s nice to have i feel much more accurate in my dps, any suggestions for a move predictor/priority dps addon?

    • 12 dude October 15, 2010 at 6:38 am

      predictor addon there is only feralbynight that i’m aware of. or ovale, with some heavy scripting. droodfocus does the job for me, not badkitty, not fbn.

    • 14 Vallen October 15, 2010 at 2:04 pm

      I’m really not a fan of predictor mods. I like to think on my feet and I would think it improves my situational awareness. So dont really have much advice in terms of predictor mods, but I can tell you that I use Class Timers to time my bleeds and whatnot. Works like a charm for me.

    • 15 zelmaru October 15, 2010 at 2:13 pm

      My fave is Droodfocus – no predictor but extremely good. I tend to use a predictor when I’m first learning the rotation and then turn it off once I get the timing down, since brains probably trump the scripts. Of course it hasn’t been updated. Since then any timer mod would do the trick. I VERY much like ForteXorcist and use it for cooldowns/spell durations for all my toons.

      Since you asked:

      FBN Lite http://bitbucket.org/Gurrshael/fbnlite
      Ovale w/ Custom Script http://fluiddruid.net/2010/10/ovale-scripts-updated/

      Both are predictors that are up and running with the new 4.0.1 code.

  10. 16 Puunal October 15, 2010 at 6:27 am

    Here are some WoL parses. First is before the buff…

    http://www.worldoflogs.com/reports/n7fx5xtajks7w9bc/details/8/

    Second is after the buff (from last night)…

    http://www.worldoflogs.com/reports/vodqiqa139h39t1v/details/8/

    In the first case I was doing around 6.3k; in the second case i was doing around 9.1k. In both cases I was just wacking on a dummy.

  11. 17 Silvr October 15, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Vallen, have been along time reader and a feral druid since Vanilla. I have really enjoyed your blog over the past year, very insightful and a pleasure to read.

    Just wanted to add my 2 cents after having reforged (crit ->mastery) leaving me with just over 60% crit and 300 mastery. I gained about 2500dps on the heroic target dummy IF. My bleeds where going crazy recount damage had rip and rake as my top 2 sources of damage. For 2 minutes steady damage between 8.8-9k, only buff was MoTW. Also saw that a hot fix came in last night while i was playing, could have been the buff to damage they were talking about.

    Again thanks for a great blog, a great read during lunchtime for me!

    /cheers

    Silvrwind
    Moonrunner

  12. 18 Arandin October 16, 2010 at 2:46 am

    Thanks all for your imput, i’m actually kind of training myself to not even use an addon right now and it seems to be working pretty well! I feel like i’m not a mindless zombie pressing buttons when an addon tells me to😛.

  13. 19 Funniest Cats Video May 7, 2014 at 2:03 am

    I have been browsing online greater than three
    hours as of late, but I never discovered any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty value sufficient for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made good content material as you probably did,
    the net will likely be much more helpful than ever before.
    Please Visit Or Blog : http://most-funny-cat-videos.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 452,393 hits

