More Kitty Play Testing

So through 2 weeks of raiding I’ve been able to put some practice into the 4.01 Kitty Play rotation and am in the process of writing up some thoughts on how its changed since 3.3.5. That post is coming shortly.

In the meantime I just wanted to mention that I’ve changed my Reforge/Gemming scheme once again based on some more test results and I’ve updated my previous 4.01 Kitty Primer posts to reflect this so that it provides up to date information. The scheme I’m using today is:

  1. Gem Hit in any blue slots/prismatic slots.
  2. Reforge your highest secondary stat (that is Crit or Haste) on all items into Mastery
  3. Gem Agility in any red slots, items with double yellow sockets, or if the socket bonus is below 4 Agility
  4. Gem Agility/Haste or Agility/Crit in all remaining yellow slots

I will say that I absolutely hate this template as it completely ignores game mechanics like Hit/Expertise which make for some misses/dodges at interesting times. It’s mostly likely the fact that Mastery’s value is so high at lv 80 and by the time we get to 85 I suspect that this will not be the case for very  long. So I’ll go out on a limb and say this is probably a temporary “best template” until Cata. It tends to throw my ryhthm off quite a bit but, you can’t argue against the #’s.

Maximizing Mastery/Agility while ignoring hit/expertise

Tradeoff of lack of hit/expertise

Edit: Just noticed the 9 mangles, gotta love random other ppl pushing my mangle off and me just putting it back on mindlessly:/

6 Responses to “More Kitty Play Testing”


  1. 1 zelmaru October 21, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    I haven’t really done much with my gear yet… is Rawr up and accurate at this point? I don’t trust my mental math to figure out caps etc.

  2. 2 Vallen October 21, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    I haven’t used Rawr since 4.01 dropped. I’m trying to come to my own conclusions without using math or simulators. Based on some of the other things I’ve read it seems I’m on the same track as most folks who are mathing and simulating.

  3. 3 Warscreamer October 22, 2010 at 4:59 am

    @zelmaru: Rawr team is to busy working on Rawr at 85lvl to update current version.
    They announce it on official site/forum, so don’t wait for it.
    The good news is, they should be ready for Cata before it hits😉

  4. 4 zelmaru October 22, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Last night I traded some crit for mastery via reforging. My hit is almost capped and my expertise is capped. I found in a very unscientific way on the dummies that the reforge to mastery increased my dps by 500.

  5. 5 Goodmongo October 22, 2010 at 11:35 am

    I think that by lvl 85 we will still be shooting for mastery over hit/expertise. The reeason is because I doubt you can be hit/expertise capped unless you basically ignore mastery. So the MEW numbers will most likely still be along the lines that they are today with mastery being about a full point ahead of hit/expertise.

    Seems like we will jsut ahve to get used to a miss or dodge here and there.

  6. 6 Rohan October 28, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    Man I envy you those DPS number! (Kitty DPSers unite! Don’t see enough of them, you know… :D) Anyhow, thanks for the info here.


Leave a Reply

I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 452,393 hits

