Insane in the Membrane – Clarified

Today, 16 days after the original response, we finally get a clear and concise answer to the fate of Insane of the Membrane:

Originally Posted by Lylirra (Source)
It’s a question you’ve been asking us for a little while now. And, based on all the posts, emails, petitions, and letters we received following the announcement that the Insane in the Membrane achievement would no longer be in available in World of Warcraft: Cataclysm, we started to wonder if maybe we had gone a bit loco. So, we went back to the drawing board. After carefully reviewing all the feedback and discussing the matter amongst ourselves, we’re now happy to report that we will be making the following changes to the Feat of Strength:

* Exalted reputation with Shen’dralar will no longer be required. As this is the only reputation that will be unobtainable in Cataclysm, we’ve simply decided to remove it as a requirement. For those who already earned Exalted reputation with this faction, don’t worry — we haven’t forgotten about your accomplishments. In a future patch, we’ll be adding in a separate Feat of Strength to recognize your deep love of Dire Maul.

* Bloodsail Buccaneer faction reputation will remain in-game. Also, to ensure that this change does not negatively affect Cataclysm quest progression in Stranglethorn Vale, Booty Bay Bruisers will now provide reputation up through Exalted.

This will ensure that players will still be able to attain Insane in the Membrane and “The Insane” title in World of Warcraft: Cataclysm. Please note, however, that these changes will not take effect until The Shattering in patch 4.0.3a — excluding the separate “Exalted with Shen’dralar” feat, which will be introduced in a future, but currently-undetermined patch. And, of course, those who are already Insane in the Membrane will retain their title and current Feat of Strength. Shine on, you crazy diamonds.

This is good or bad news depending on who you and where you are in regards to completion of this Feat of Strength. This is how I break it down:

Group A – Those who are working on Insane, have not completed Shen’dralar

This group is extremely happy that they did not blow extreme amounts of gold on this or take drastic measures such as xfering servers to buy diamonds. Most likely, more patient people who were willing to take the risk and wait.

Group B – Those who are working on Insane, have just completed Shen’Dralar

This group is probably pretty pissed off that no word was given for so long which resulted in a lot of people blowing a lot of gold and real money to complete this in anticipation for this being removed. Most likely, people who don’t trust Blizzard to do the right thing and took matters into their own hands.

Group C – Those who have completed Insane, prior to Blizzcon

This group, is most likely annoyed (some may be pissed) that Insane has been “cheaped”  or “nerfed” by removing Shen’dralar from the requirement which is traditionally one of the most difficult to obtain in the Feat of Strength. Recall from my prior post, the challenge again is obtaining Pristine Black Diamonds which are world drops and cannot be farmed. While these folks may not have blown gold recently to complete this, everyone who has completed this undoubtedly has blown a lot of gold purchasing diamonds.

Group D – Those who have grinded Bloodsail to Exalted

Of all groups, this one is the smallest. If you are unaware, at this time you can grind Booty Bay Bruisers to revered (11999/12000). Beyond that there is only one method to obtain rep past this which is to kill one NPC (Jazzrik) which provides reputation past revered at +5 per kill. This NPC is on a timer (4-7 mins) and the calculation is approximately 4200 kills or 20+ days of nonstop farming. This is by far the most “insane” of all achievements which provides no achievement or Feat of Strength (at this time). Needless to say, you truly have to be insanely hard core to get this to exalted and it seems this is the one aspect that is not being given any consideration.

So, based on everything that has happened I hope Blizzard has learned their lesson when it comes to making adjustments to time consuming, heavy commitment Feat of Strength’s like Insane. Basically, don’t ever remove it, change it, adjust it. It’s one of those things that you really can’t please everyone because no matter what you do you will inevitable piss someone off so its best to just leave it as is.

So how does this affect me personally? Well, I belong to Group B, the group that took drastic measures to obtain the PBD’s to push Shen’dralar to Exalted prior to 4.03. Yes, I xfered an alt to another server to buy up all the diamonds I needed and xfered them back. I took the worst possible scenario and acted upon it knowing full well that something like this might occur. Am I angry? Not particularly, I’m a perfectionist and having another shiny Feat of Strength is not a bad consolation prize. Needless to say, with Insane no longer in fear of being removed, I can once again take a breather and take my time come Cataclysm.

❤ Moll-E

 

16 Responses to “Insane in the Membrane – Clarified”


  1. 1 pissed November 10, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    ofc i should be pissed after blizzcon and after they stated its going to be removed i rushed and got it and now this big nerf bat seriously F**k u ghostcrawler

  2. 2 Vallen November 10, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    Technically, they clarified very quickly after Blizzcon that “aspects” would be removed but it would still be obtainable post Cata. Based on that it was possible to make an educated guess on what’s in and out.

    Also, I wouldn’t blame this on GC, hes just the one that said it, doesn’t mean he was the one who decided it.

    Either way, ya I feel ya, I burned a lot of gold/money for Shendralar as well

  3. 3 Sopa November 10, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Meh i dont really care about Shen Dralar, the reputation is getting broken so you cant get it to exalted, i like you transfered an alt from an old server where i started playing at but i didnt spend huge ammounts of gold on this, those that have it or just got it will still have one more reputation in exalted than others. My only nerdrage part is that i was actually waiting to farm goblin rep until i farmed pirates up to 999 exalted. With these changes, and considering i just got goblins up to 999 exalted means i will lose 105000 rep just to get pirates up, and having to redo goblins all over again

    • 4 Vallen November 10, 2010 at 6:05 pm

      Hey Sopa,

      I am also in the same boat where that was the first thing I thought of when I saw that post. I would absolutely love to grind Bloodsail to exalted but with my Steamwheedle so close to Exalted already, do I really want to destroy goblin all over again and redo it again?

      Put that on my list of things to do (very very far down my list of things to do)

  4. 5 Ilnezhara Eonar November 10, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    I, myself and furious to the point of possibly canceling my account and definitely never wearing the nerfed title again. I personally spent 60+ hours farming all my librams (did it all myself) and about 30k gold.

    I have my Bane title, will be grinding to High Warlord with my best friend in WoW and that’s what I’ll wear most likely. It felt like a slap in the face to Blizzard’s hardcore crowd.

    • 6 Vallen November 11, 2010 at 10:34 am

      Well, everyone’s perspective is different depending on how it affects them.

      For example, you discuss how the change to Shen’dralar nerfed the insane title.

      On the flip side, you’re talking about grinding a High Warlord title. PVP titles from the past, required extreme amounts of dedicated and time commitment, well beyond anything Insane is. To grind HW/GM you literally had to BG 24/7 for months to get the title. Personally I have a Commander title (thats rank 11 vs rank 14) and I played approx 16-18 hrs a day for 2 months straight.

      So personally when I see the re-release of old school PVP titles, it really annoys the shit out of me. The proverbial “slap to the face”

  5. 7 lissanna November 10, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Blizzard had no way to win with this one. People were always going to be mad regardless of what Blizzard did.

    • 8 Vallen November 11, 2010 at 10:30 am

      Yep, fully agree.

      Hope that some lessons learned were taken away from this experience which is to leave things like Insane the way they are and never adjust them.

  6. 9 Bloodgore November 11, 2010 at 12:37 am

    I’m in group C. The group I feel sorry for are group D. They need something out of this be it a Feat or title… just something. I had no clue how to get Bloodsail to exalted before I started the Insane but i quickly found out when the bruisers stopped giving me rep and I turned in my quest. Previous to all this hoopla I was looking forward to going for loremaster>seeker>bloodsail exalted>Insane on my worgen feral druid. Now that they have cheapened it I’m not even sure I want to.

    On a side note to this they have made many pve titles(champ of Naaru, hand of adal) no longer obtainable and are continuing this trend (undying,Immortal) seems to me they are setting a bad precedent here for people to point to.

    Keeping the Insane requirements as is or removing it come cata either way I was fine with. This gray area they have put it in just leaves a bad taste in my mouth but thats just my two cents

    • 10 Vallen November 11, 2010 at 10:38 am

      I have to agree with you in regards to existing Bloodsail Exalted club members, that really is brutal and should be recognized. Even moreso than Shen’dralar. I mean seriously, grinding one npc 4000 times on a 4-7 min timer is ridiculous lol.

      Personally I have no issues with titles/drakes being removed. As long as they give enough advance notice then its fair game. For example, since Blizzard announced the removal of these titles, our guild has done Undying x2, Immortal x2, Herald and there is a planned Dedicated Insanity in the works. If you give people time then they will work on it.

      Insane on the other hand was extremely short notice without much prep time. Even then it was all doable except Shen’dralar due to the PBD requirement which I assume is why they inevitably removed it from the FOS.

      • 11 Bloodgore November 13, 2010 at 9:50 am

        Just to clarify I was not suggesting they never remove a title/mount just that when they make a decision to do it they stick to their guns so to speak and not reverse the decision when pressured from the player base.

        To quote Bashiok
        “Feats are things that you can’t be guaranteed to complete, which is why they’re feats and not achievements. Most of them are actually now impossible to complete, and this feat will join a long list of “you had to be there” moments in WoW time.”

        Wish they had stuck to this. Now I do realize a blue on the EU forums said Insane was here to stay but that to me is a separate issue. Meaning blues should be more careful what they promise in forum post. Don’t promise me a moose unless you’re 110% sure you can deliver me a moose😉

  7. 12 Sopa November 11, 2010 at 1:32 am

    Btw i have no confirmation on this, but so far friends been telling me that you cant do goblin quest in dire maul anymore. That your only source will be pirates outside ratchet and gadgetzan

    • 13 Vallen November 11, 2010 at 10:39 am

      Technically pirates are the better way to go for a few reasons

      – People do Knot/DM because they need Librams for Shen’dralar, now that this is removed its no longer beneficial to do DM
      – Pirates are a lot more mindless and you can take breaks while they respawn
      – There aren’t any instance lockouts!

      • 14 Sopa November 11, 2010 at 11:14 am

        No way! I found dire maul faster to grind the rep, i had a friend boomkin farm me rep outside both places while i was afk and ya it certainly helped(managed to get around 7k with ratchet and 6k with gadgetzan, 4k with other two) but DM seemed much faster plus getting 2 tannins per run also helped a lot. If i decide to go truly insane and get Pirates up to exalted i will probably just pay a friend to farm Dire Maul goblin again😛

        Plus imagine you are an Eng and use the transporter when you already did 5 runs in the hour, go kill some pirates. Hearth back. Have Jaina Locket? Take portal to CoT (if still there?).

  8. 15 Kamyu November 11, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Why don’t they make a little distiction between ‘original’ insanes and ‘cataclysm’ insanes? Maybe a different title… it’s not the same…

    • 16 Vallen November 11, 2010 at 10:41 am

      Using this train of thought then you get into all sorts of danger such as with raiding achievements

      For example…
      1) I killed LK @ 5% achievement
      2) I killed LK @ 30% achievment
      3) I killed LK pre 4.01 achievement
      4) I killed LK pre cata achievement

      As Liss & I have pointed out, you can never win in this type of situation you will always end up pissing someone off.

      That being said, if they do introduce a “new insane” achievement. I definitely will not be taking my time doing it and will not leave things to chance like I did this time.


Leave a Reply

I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 452,393 hits

