Pimp Your Druid: Soloing Kael’thas Sunstrider

It’s that time again, this time its the 5th installment of the Pimp Your Druid series. No, we’re not talking about the Tempest Keep version of Kael’thas (maybe by Cataclysm!), no we’re talking about the Magister’s Terrace version which drops the chicken mount, a Swift White Hawkstrider. In addition, MGT has the bonus of also dropping a Phoenix Hatchling and the ever so sexy Orb of the Sin’dorei, a 3 for 1 deal!  We’re ramping up the difficulty here and we’re getting into the more challenging content to solo. Have no fear though, it’s still nothing an average geared druid can’t do.

Prerequisite

  • Items only drop from heroic version of Magister’s Terrace (MGT)
  • If you aren’t attuned to heroic MGT, then you need to complete MGT on normal first (Questline: Hard to Kill)
  • Unlike past experiences, I’d say you should be lv 80 to attempt this
  • Attempt this as kitty spec/gear only if you have superior gear, otherwise bear spec/gear is the safer choice

What gear do I need?

Folks, this is not an easy one. I’ll be upfront with you all there may be some of you out there that won’t be able to do this. Before I get any comments saying this is a joke in T10, remember that these posts are addressed to the general public that may not have the best gear or much experience in soloing content. As mentioned above, unless you have top notch gear you’re probably best off doing this in bear spec/gear, this isn’t to say it isn’t possible in cat spec/gear but it just makes things easier.

Getting There/Clearing Trash

Unfortunately, you can’t just simply stealth to KT and smoke him, there is a bit of trash clearing and all the earlier bosses that must be killed before you can get to your final destination. So lets go step by step on how to tackle the trash/bosses on route to KT.

1. Selin Fireheart

From the beginning of the instance to just as you enter his room, you can skip all this trash. Just stealth and go straight to the entrance of his room. There you will see 3 packs of trash, you must kill all 3 packs as they aggro as soon as you engage Selin. They don’t hit very hard but it is a mix of melee/casters so the best thing to do is taunt, and pull behind the wall so that all the mobs LOS onto you and you can kill them all at once. Repeat this three times to clear the room. For Selin himself, there is nothing special, hes just a regular tank and spank, keep wacking him until he dies.

Use the wall to pull the casters in

2. Vexallus

From Selin’s room to Vexallus there are lots and lots of mana wyrms. DO NOT PULL THEM ALL AT ONCE! If you’re like me you’ll probably think it might be fun to pull all of them at once. Remember that there is an AOE cap which results in hitting each wyrm for a lot less than you are expecting to hit them for. While you may not die, its actually really annoying and takes a long time if you pull them all at once. Pull 1-2 packs at a time and clear them slowly to avoid any delays.

Watch the aoe cap!

For Vexallus himself, there is only one ability of note to be wary of which is he creates Pure Energy at 85%, 70%, 55%, 40% and 25%.  In Bear Form, you must kill these ASAP for two reasons. First they do dmg to you and the more than are out the more overall dmg that will be done to you. Secondly, when they die they increase your dmg/size done by 50% which also stack. So in essence the faster you kill them off, the less dmg done to you and the more dmg you to do Vexallus. Note, you must do direct dmg to the Pure Energy in order for them to die, aoe dmg (swipe) does not work. The easiest way to deal with these are to tab target and maul the Pure Energy. Switch back to VExallus until the next spawn occurs and repeat until he is dead.

3. Priestess Delrissa

From Vexallus, to Priestesss Delrissa’s room you can skip all the trash. Steal through and go straight to the Priestess and her groupies. Its best to park yourself behind them and engage from there. This fight is variable depending on what you get in terms of a composition. The key to this fight is to prevent Priestess Delrissa from healing, if she gets her initial heal off chances are you may have a tough time in killing her.

Personally I like to throw a couple of hots on myself first, and feral charge right into the Priestess. Pop berserk and start Mangle spamming her, within a few seconds she’ll already be very low but here is the key. As she starts her first heal cast you must interrupt it, hit Bash to stun her and kill her off. If you miss, you can continue to keep trying but what I do at that point is I just move away from the spawn point and hit Shadowmeld (our best friend!). Let your cooldowns reset and try again. All the other groupies are irrelevant as she is the one that causes the most problems, once she is dead the rest should follow shortly.

Stop the heal!

Once you’ve killed the Priestess, continue stealthing into Kael’Thas’s room and kill the trash pack that is within his room as they will aggro if you engaged KT. Once this is all done you should be ready to begin engaging KT.

How to Solo Kael’Thas Sunstrider

Lets quickly review all the abilities that Kael’Thas has (in heroic mode):

  • Fireball: Hits the target with the highest aggro for 4950 to 6050 in heroic.
  • Phoenix: A phoenix is spawned in a random location while moving slowly to the target with the highest global threat (or the target who is kiting it). While moving, it deals damage to all who are near it and should be kited away from the group by a ranged class. When the phoenix dies, an egg spawns that must be destroyed as quickly as possible, or the phoenix will respawn and could lead to multiple mobs in the group.
  • Flame Strike: A large circular shape will appear on the floor. After 5 seconds, it deals 9000 Fire damage each tick to any who stand within it.
  • Gravity Lapse: Pulls all players to where Kael’thas stands and enables the players to float in mid air while avoiding damage-based bubbles. It also deals 300 damage per tick. Players who stand on the ground during this phase will be sent straight into the air.
  • Pyroblast: Heroic only, hits the target with the highest aggro for 45000 to 55000 Fire damage if not interrupted.
  • Shock Barrier: Heroic only, this shield absorbs 10000 damage and must be taken down as quickly as possibly, as you cannot interrupt the Pyroblast with it up.’

Kael’Thas is a two phase fight, in the first phase, he will have the the ability to cast Fireball, Phoenix and Flame Strike. Phase 1 will last for either 60s or until he reaches 50% health. If the fight duration reaches 60s before 50% then he will Shock Barrier and Pyroblast. This should never happen as you should be able to output enough dps to push yourself into Phase 2. However if it does happen you can do one of 2 things. First you can try and break the Shock Barrier and interrupt the Pyroblast or secondly you can just Shadowmeld and reset the fight back to square one. This is something that I didn’t do but if you are having trouble with dps you can do this to help yourself out. In kitty stealth, engage Kael’Thas by pouncing on him and building up 5 combo points. Once you’re up to 5, run out and Shadowmeld. This will reset the encounter but keep your 5 combo points up. Restealth and restart the encounter once more but this time open with a Rip so that you’ll have a 5 cp rip active instantly.

This is the flame strike, get out of it when he casts it

While you are burning him down to 50% you should be wary of the abilities mentioned at the beginning (Fireball, Phoenix and Flame Strike). There’s not much you can do about Fireball so you’ll just have to absorb this. The Phoenix spawn while a nussance you can just let that wack away as well. The one ability that you can mitigate is Flame Strike. Similar to all other void zones in WOW, it will drop a big red ring around the area that it will be dropped. Make sure you move away from this to avoid taking this damage. Make sure to pop Barskin on cooldown to reduce the damage taken. If you’re starting to get really low, pop Enrage + Frenzied Regeneration and get yourself up to a healthy amount of health.

Now, assuming you’ve done all this, Kael’Thas should now be at 50% and will enter phase 2 of the fight. Here, he will begin casting Gravity Lapse which creates massive orbs that damage you on contact. It is also important to note that you cannot touch the floor as it will punt you straight back up into the air. Instead, this is actually a gift in disguise as it gives you time to heal yourself back to full. Just float far away from the orbs and heal as much as required. If you’re impatient like me, you can weave inbetween the orbs and drop a couple of combo points in but that really isn’t necessary. After about 30s, he will drop you back to the floor and become stunned. Now is your chance to unload! Shift into kitty form pop Berserk and go to town on his ass. You may not be able to bring him from 50% down to 0% but you should get a healthy chunk complete. After the stun is complete he will cast Gravity Lapse again and once again run away from orbs and heal yourself to full. Repeat this process until he is dead!

Keep your distance and you should take minimal dmg

So far, I am 2/3 (Hatching + Orb) but have yet to get the mount. 33 attempts ain’t so bad in comparison to my 130+ for Anzu (qq). Happy farming as always, next up on the list, how to solo Baron Rivendare!

26 Responses to “Pimp Your Druid: Soloing Kael’thas Sunstrider”


  1. 1 toque March 6, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    Oh cool great guide. I’ve recently done this alot (and gotten all 3 of those great rewards you mentioned :), so I have some tips.

    1) You can stealth past the wyrms before vexallus. Just stealth behind him and proceed.

    2) If you have glyph of Maul, each extra maul will kill a pure energy without you having to target it, so you can keep target on Vex.

    3) This is less a tip than it is just my way of doing Kael’thas. I started doing it this way when I found that sometimes my bear dps wasn’t enough to get him into second phase before 60 seconds.

    Load up on hots and then start in kitty until the phoenix comes out. Then switch to bear and hit berserk and let the extra mangles and mauls take care of the phoenix and egg while I keep Kael targeted. Of course if I’m low on health I do the survival instincts/frenzied regen combo. After phase 1 its the same as your guide.

  2. 2 Alaron March 6, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    You can meld and still keep your CP’s? Sweet! I’ve soloed this a couple times, using the same strategy as listed. The first time I did this, however, I was so poorly geared I kept dying to Kael’s fireballs…so I kited in one of the mage guards from outside, who throws up anti-magic zones. Too easy after that.

  3. 3 Arandin March 6, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    I got my hawk in a very lucky 4th attempt :D, but i’m with ya on the 130+ Anzu attempts 😦

  4. 4 Soldris March 7, 2010 at 4:59 am

    Nice guide :).

    I’ve been meaning to start trying for the White Hawkstrider after I got the Raven Lord in 7 attempts.

    Although this one will probably take me forever ^^.

  5. 5 Ravnika March 7, 2010 at 7:42 am

    2 out of 3 here as well. With a similar amount of runs. Some things I’ve noticed though.

    Flask of lesser resistance. If you have trouble with the fact that some of these bosses are quite heavily based on magic dmg (Arcane for Vexallus iirc and Fire for KT, plus whatever the Priestess adds throw at you) the flask of lesser resistance might well be helpfull (it stacks with motw) and if you are (like me) an alchemist you also get a nice mixology extra resistance.

    As for Vexallus, as mentioned above, the extra maul hit from the glyph of maul can hit the sparks. But the same goes for the extra mangles from berserk. My personal tactic is FFF, mangle, load up on lacerate. Meanwhile I try to keep my rage as high as possible, and when he summons his first adds hit berserk. Start spamming mangle/maul (this burns through rage, esp at start), (lacerating if it’s about to drop of). By the time your berserk ends you have so many stacks of the +dmg that if he isnt dead at that time he will be soon.

    But, great guide, and some very nice new things to try out…

  6. 6 Vaneris March 7, 2010 at 11:45 am

    Nice guide! I done it in uld/toc gear a while back (Bear), got the pet and the mount within a week! No orb though.
    I dread to think how many times I killed anzu for his mount, I agreed to let my girl friend have the first one that dropped because she wanted it so much, after she got it (100ish runs) I solo’d it every day til I had one of my own, took forever 🙂

    Great blog, keep it up !

  7. 8 Bear Pelt March 8, 2010 at 3:38 am

    Sweet! I’ve got a dedicated bear spec and set of gears, and Princess still wiped me sometimes. Reasons being the rogue + enchance shaman combination with the stuns being the killer.

    Be sure that hunter doesn’t jump back and aggro an additional pack of mobs too, folks!

    KT isn’t so bad, but I got Pyroblasted to oblivion early on couple of times due to not going into kitteh form. Other than that he’s cake. 😀 Gotten the orb, pet and mount already, so don’t give up folks! Keep doing it everyday~

  8. 9 Zuara March 9, 2010 at 1:54 am

    Gah! After smashing all the other bosses (yes, even the Princess) first time, I got owned by KT several times before giving up. Must try cat form although as a Tauren, no shadowmeld for me 😦

    • 10 Vallen March 9, 2010 at 1:49 pm

      Hi Zuara,

      Care to elaborate on what sort of problems you’re encountering? As you can see there’s a lot of people who have had success doing this so perhaps me (or anyone else thats reading) can lend some assistance to you

  9. 11 Mystique March 9, 2010 at 5:49 am

    Great guide! Finally got me around to soloing this place as well, and as others probably experienced, the Priestess gave me the most trouble the first time around. I got a really unlucky setup of rogue+monk+shaman who can shred through any bears furry butt quite fast thanks to their combined stuns and offensive dispels.
    Word of advice on my part: if you get the rogue, root him as you pull. I failed to interrupt the Priestess thanks to sitting in Kidney shots and Gouges and what not, but if you keep him rooted initially, he shouldnt pose any threat. I think the Priestess may have a defensive dispel though, so be sure to pull her out of LOS from the rooted rogue.

    As for Kael, it was a cakewalk for me. I just went kitty all the way and bursted him down to second phase, then used Berserk during his first stun. Theres plenty of time to heal during the Gravity Lapse, and most of the damage comes from the Phoenix, not Kael himself anyway.
    By the way, your suggestion of builing up 5 CP-s and resetting the fight didnt work for me.. Kael just respawned with no CP-s.

    I had my usual pure kitty spec, but mixed dps and tanking gear (TOC25/ICC10 level).

    No shiny drops yet (2 runs), but I got my Anzu in 30 tries, so I have faith in the Gods of loot. 🙂

    • 12 Vallen March 9, 2010 at 1:52 pm

      It worked for me (I’m pretty sure) but Ill go back and give it a try a few times to confirm this. On a side note I’ll also go back and confirm toque’s earlier comment about skipping the wyrms pre Vexallus.

  10. 13 Jarr March 9, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    I can’t stand those fugly chicken mounts but I may have to try this just for the challenge of it. Thank you for the excellent guide.

    • 14 Vallen March 9, 2010 at 1:50 pm

      Amen to that Jarr, I am only looking to collect this chicken mount but I dont think I’d ever use it. The only chicken mount I’d ever use would be Anzu (if he would ever drop his mount)

    • 15 Jarr March 15, 2010 at 8:32 am

      Well Anzu was kind enough to finally be tamed, so I gave MgT a shot. First boss was cake (“I am a GOD!” Yeah..not so much). Second was a close one. Third Boss/PvP fight was a nail biter until the Priestess went OOM. On to Kael “Just a Setback”.

      First try was going well until he hit me with a Pyro. I slacked having thought phase 2 started at 60%, not 50. BOOM! Dead bear. Second try was much smoother.

      No white chicken, but it was fun to roll that place after having hated it during its time.

      Oh, and that courtyard ahead of the third boss makes me SO thankful for the spreads on trash in Wrath. Going through there with nameplates up made it look like the Vegas strip.

      Anyways, thank you again for the great write-up.

  11. 16 Mystique March 11, 2010 at 8:54 am

    I can confirm that you can indeed skip the wyrms before Vexallus. They dont aggro when he’s engaged.

    If anyone is still struggling with Kael and trying it in bear, I’d really recommend doing it as a kitty all the way. Last time I finished the fight at almost full health without ever leaving Cat form.

    Also, yay for me, the chicken dropped on my 4th run! 🙂

  12. 17 Captain Fizz March 13, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    In decent T10 gear – All the bosses can be done in kitty BTW.
    First boss may need to SI + FR mid way through…

    But 20k mangles in kitty against the 2nd boss 😀

    3rd boss Barkskin, Berserk + Swipe kills everything.

    Last boss just nuke down to 50% – worry about pheonix + egg whilst floating about. (Swipe too before you go up so the pheonix is at low HP anyway)

    I use a mix of tanking & kitty gear for it. Seems to work a treat tho & a tad quicker / easier. 🙂

  13. 18 dracula March 31, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    I used cat spec and 4T9 bear gear, but I was unable to get him to 50% within a minute… and I couldn’t try the combopoint trick as a horde kitty.

    However, to my surprise it took only 2 auto-attacks and 1 mangle to break the shield, so if you just hit bash at 0.5s before the cast ends it will very likely interrupt the pyroblast.

  14. 19 Torosso April 5, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    Finally did this over the long weekend.

    I was bear specced and gear for all fights (though i have almost full 264 gear).

    Using the Maul glyph makes things easier on all fights (especially Vexallus cause it kills the pure energy for you).

    Kael was pretty easy i just stayed bear and used beserk off the bat and he got to 50% without having a pyro. The gravity phase I did in kitty but its gg by then so you can stay bear or heal or whatever.

  15. 20 Daniel May 28, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    I stumbled across this as I was searching for help because I can’t even defeat Sunstrider in *normal* mode. I even spent days grinding heroics to get better gear and went from ilevel 200 gear to ilevel 232 gear and I still can’t do it.

    You write, “as for the fireball you just have to absorb this”. Yeah, right. Even in normal mode it hits me for 2-3K each time. Add on the blast for the Phoenix and they are doing about 5k damage every 4 seconds.

    I have 35k health with MotW. Since I cannot mitigate that damage that literally gives me a TOL of roughly 25 seconds. There is no way on earth I can output enough DPS in 25 seconds to get him to phase two.

    As a herbalist I can pop Lifeblood. But frenzied regeneration returns nothing because spell damage doesn’t build up enough rage to burn off.

    Sorry about the vent on this old post. Really frustrated because I can solo Anzu and a lot of other bosses on Heroic mode but not this guy on normal.

    • 21 Vallen May 29, 2010 at 2:22 am

      This guide was written to try and help everyone and if it isnt helping you then perhaps we can add some further insight to help you and future people who might read this.

      Easiest way to analyze your difficulties would be a link to your character and also a description of what you’re doing to start the encounter and during the encounter.

      – Are you using a bear spec? kitty spec?
      – Are you using bear or kitty gear?

      • 22 Daniel May 30, 2010 at 1:23 pm

        Thanks for you kind reply. I actually got him down in normal with the help of the potion of resistance mentioned earlier.

        Now I’m stuck on heroic mode with the same problem. The real issue is DPS. In normal I could get through with the potion because he doesn’t cast the pyroblast. But I’ve died five times now with his health between 53-57%. I tired adding in some cat gear (which isn’t very good) to the mix to up attack power but it’s not working. Maybe if I switch out the potion of resistance with a flask of endless rage.

      • 23 Daniel May 30, 2010 at 1:54 pm

        I tried the flask switch and that was worse. I need the extra resistance because that is what allows me to hang in there through the flamestrike and do any kind of dps to him.

        I think the real problem here is my weapon. I’m still using Marrowstrike (I am a healer and if I tank I off tank) for threat threat generation. Sigh. Good taking weapons are a pain to get, though.

  16. 24 Daniel May 31, 2010 at 12:44 am

    I just wanted to say I finally got him down on heroic. The reward for all my effort: the swift white hawkstrider on my first solo! I kid you not.

    Thanks for the effort with this guide. BTW I did some calculations and tested them out of the training dummy in SW.

    He has 236K HP. You need to get him to 50% which means you need to generate 118K damage in 59 seconds or 2000 dps. So that’s your goal. If you can do that dps on the training dummy in SW in 59 seconds you can have enough dps to solo him.

  17. 25 Windpaw August 29, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    I’ve been on a soloing binge tonight – Anzu (no burd…) – all of ZG including Hakkar, then went after Kael on heroic. All the bosses went down with little muss until I got to the big guy. After eating a few pyroblasts I finally started the fights in kitty and burst Kael down as much as I could. Once I got off a good 5 point rip I’d shift back to bear and bear-serk him into the next phase. Once you start floating it’s game over. Heal up – and flying kitty him to more fun 5 point rips while avoiding the electro-balls of doom.

    One thing I noted is that my combo points don’t persist through shadowmelds. I’ve tried it a couple times while working out how to get Kael into phase II and just couldn’t get them to stick either time.

    No chicken mount so far – but thanks to this guide I’m more than confident I’ll be back until I do.

  18. 26 sunstorm May 2, 2011 at 10:12 am

    Honestly don’t want to be mean but I used to solo this in about 17 min at lv 80 and I don’t raid 🙂


Leave a comment




I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 464,006 hits