Sulfuras, Hand of Ragnaros!

For those who have been following my blog they have probably realized by now I am a pack rat that loves old content, mounts and cool items or as I call it Pimp My Druid!

I have always dreamed of getting a Sulfuras, Hand of Ragnaros back in the Vanilla WOW days and it’s been something I’ve been working on and off ever since TBC came out. The original purpose of going back to Molten Core was to finish off my Thorium Brotherhood and Hydraxian Waterlord rep to obtain the The Exalted title. At the time you still required a Quintessence which not everyone had which really meant that you’d have to wait around for the cooldown to end (1 hr) and with 8 waters to douse, it kind of sucked. If you had 2-3 waters it could mean waiting several hours just to summon Majordomo Executus. The best thing since sliced bread happened in 3.0.8 where the Quintessence was removed and no longer required to extinquish fire! This turned a several hour chore into a 45 min activity (which is a lot easier to convince ppl to come and help with!)

Today after 17 runs (since Achievements started as I’ve done way more than that) Eye of Sulfuras dropped! It seems like a long time (over 4 months worth of farming) but hell the drop rate is 1.9% so I guess I could consider myself fortunate in that sense. As you all know, this alone is not enough to make the legendary mace as a Sulfuron Hammer is required which is a crafted item created from Plans: Sulfuron Hammer. What do you need to make this? Well…

  1. Sulfuron Ingot x 9 (8 for the hammer, 1 for the recipe which requires an Exalted Thorium Brotherhood Blacksmith)
  2. Dark Iron Bar x 20 (8 Dark Iron x 20 Bars = 160 Dark Iron)
  3. Arcanite Bar x 50 (Thorim Bar x 50 & Arcane Crystal x 50)
  4. Essence of Fire x 25
  5. Blood of the Mountain x 10
  6. Lava Core x 10
  7. Fiery Core x 10

Needless to say this is not an easy undertaking and takes a lot of time to collect. However luckily all of the materials can be found from within MC and in the time that it takes you to obtain an eye you will probably already have collected enough to make the hammer. For me I made the hammer about 2 months ago as a way to encourage myself to keep trying and going every week.

Tips on how to get started?

  • Do it every week, it sucks sometimes but try not to lose any timers if possible
  • You only need 5 or so people to do it in 40-45 minutes, you can do it with 2 even but that would take a lot longer
  • Skip as much trash as you can! There are tonnes of trash in there and you probably only need to kill 15-20 packs at most
  • Hunt on the AH for ALL materials (especially the Sulfuron Ingots as those will take a long time to collect)
  • Make sure you mine all the Dark Iron with your own toon or an alt, you can always clear MC and go back 30 mins later after a soft reset when all the trash will despawn

Reasons to do this/how to convince ppl to come?

  • Ragnaros will be coming back in Cataclysm and who knows, MC may be removed by then
  • An oppourtunity to collect Tier 1, again MC might be removed in Cataclysm
  • Get exalted with Thorium Brotherhood or Hydraxian Waterlord
  • It’s actually pretty decent money (if you sell the epics that drop) for 40-45 mins of time.
WoWScrnShot_102609_170552

Retro Lv 60 Look!

WoWScrnShot_102609_170606

Current Lv 80 Look!

handofrag

If anyone else out there is working on this, I encourage you all to keep trying as it will drop sooner or later. Keep at it and you’ll be a happy camper like me 🙂 If there are any specific questions you’d like answered drop me a comment and I’ll try my best to help!

19 Responses to “Sulfuras, Hand of Ragnaros!”


  1. 1 Lissanna October 26, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    lol grats on your new hammer!

  2. 2 Lustriga October 27, 2009 at 4:42 am

    Congratulations.
    I’ve been farming MC on my priest for Eye of Divinity.
    At the same time I have a warrior who is farming 1 half of thunder fury and the last few pieces of his Sulfuras, HoR. And a Mage who is farming the other end of Thunderfury. A run takes us about 1 hour to 1 hour 15.

    Hope to “borrow” some of your luck!

    • 3 Vallen October 28, 2009 at 4:01 pm

      Hi Lustriga,

      Farming for an EOD shouldn’t take too long since it’s a 50% drop rate. I’ve definitely taken some friends alts along so that they could get a Benediction. It’s really good that you have people who are motivated to go to MC every week. At first I had a solid group of 5 people that would go on a weekly basis but people started to lose interest after a few months so the past little while I’ve been struggling to go.

      Keep at it and don’t waste any timers!!!

  3. 4 Kan January 31, 2010 at 3:11 am

    I have gone to MC more times than you can ever imagine since Vanilla Wow and now, that i’m level 80 i can’t even get the Cenarion Helm from Garr(im a druid too)… so right now the only thing i need is 3 more ingots and 6 blood of the mountains, i still need the eye which i dont know if it will ever drop since i can’t get the helm since lvl 60

  4. 5 Kan February 22, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    OMG Yesterday it dropped for me, finally! I’m so happy like a 5 year old would be.

  5. 7 Kan February 25, 2010 at 5:23 am

    Thanks 🙂 But you are not going to believe this…
    I went today with my rogue friend, which is the one i always do old content and he was kidding that now that i had my eye he would want it now just for the feat of strength…and when we kill ragnaros the eye dropped again! Man 2 eyes in a row, that is real luck. About my mace…3 more bloods to go, they are really scarce on my server

  6. 8 Impact February 26, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Im not really interested in any of the drops, but i tagged along with some friends yesterday to get some Dark Iron. We killed every boss including Raggy, and then i thought I’d wait for soft reset just like you wrote.

    Quote: “Make sure you mine all the Dark Iron with your own toon or an alt, you can always clear MC and go back 30 mins later after a soft reset when all the trash will despawn.”

    Now to the problem: The core hounds did despawn, but so did the DI deposits. Further more the rest of the trash RESPAWNED even the ones we killed yesterday. So now I got most the trash back and all Dark Iron Deposits are gone.

    Any thoughts? Can someone confirm the quote?

  7. 9 Kan February 27, 2010 at 12:25 am

    That’s weird, every time i reset the instance the dogs despawn but actually other nods spawn. Like one disappears from Gehennas but another one appears on Garr.

  8. 10 John March 20, 2010 at 4:58 am

    Was wondering can you have more then one? seen a few pictures of people with two

  9. 11 John March 20, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    BTW foudn out YOU DO NOT NEED TO BE EXALTED to get the hammer but do need the ingot just got it annoyed me a bit since it soo dam rare to get them, also the legendary one lol

  10. 12 Mike April 21, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    I must have strange luck. I started running MC a couple weeks ago to finish out my Waterlords rep, thinking that the Eye would be cool, but not really thinking it would drop.

    Well, on my first run with just me and my mage friend, the left binding drops. Being a druid, I can’t equip the sword, but I still looted the binding anyway. The very next run, I take about 5 people with me, and crazy enough, the right binding drops. Nobody else cares about it, so I loot the right binding as well. We continue through and I’m talking about the Eye. My warlock friend jokingly says that if a warlock tanks Rag, the Eye will drop. He did and … the Eye dropped too!

    So, I ran MC twice and had all 3 legendary items drop. The very next day, I had Precious’ Ribbon in ICC drop on my loot!

    Now, if I can only get the mounts I’ve been farming to drop …

    • 13 Vallen April 21, 2010 at 4:30 pm

      Crikey, that certainly is amazing luck. I’ve run MC much more than I’d like to admit and I think I’ve only seen 3 half bindings lifetime and 2 eyes drop. So to see all 3 pcs drop in the span of 2 runs certainly is awesome.

      Perhaps one day they’ll allow druids to use swords and you can sport a thunderfury around too 🙂

  11. 14 Kan May 8, 2010 at 3:59 am

    Right now druids can’t use swords but completing the quest of Thunderfury will get you the Feat of Strength, even if you dont equip it

  12. 16 Blathan October 3, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Lol 🙂

    You got the weapon on my brithday, gratz!

  13. 17 CALINT February 7, 2011 at 2:01 am

    i got the eye of sulfuras on my first time in MC yesterday, i soloed it and the eye dropped, now i need the other rare drops as i have fiery core and the others

  14. 18 EvilJack March 27, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Can a BS make the Hammer for you? I don’t have BS’ing but I do have most of the mats…just curious if I have to get Blacksmithing now.

  15. 19 Vallen March 29, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Someone else can make the hammer for you, but they need to have learned the recipe to make the epic hammer (so you can convert it to the legendary one)


Leave a comment




I’m Retired!

As of 04/04/2011, I have officially retired from WOW. This blog will remain as a archived resource for those who know that CAT DRUID IS 4 FITE!

About Me

A blog for the ramblings and thoughts of Vallen, a full time raiding cat druid from Auchindoun-US with a passion for raiding & achievements. An avid wow player since 2004.

For any questions or concerns contact me via comments or e-mail

Achievement Points
12250
Flying Mount
Mimiron's Head
Mount
Amani War Bear
Shirt
Master Builder's Shirt
Title
Commander
Tabard
Tabard of the Lightbringer

Blog Statistics

  • 464,016 hits